We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice hotel but small room”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed there only for 2 nights, but the hotel is very nice and perfectly located in the near downtown. The staff was very helpful in giving directions and booking taxis and they deserve to be mentioned in my review.
The breakfast offers a good selection and variety of food for all tastes.
The only small issue I have was the space in the room; I am not sure this is a kind of standard for Helsinki's hotels, but the room was very small compared to other hotels I stayed in, but enough to sleep well!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this modern and stylish hotel for one night. Surprising and nice mix of old and modern styles. The room was very pleasant tidy, modern and confortable. I had the best night sleep thanks to comfortable bed and pillows. Very good location in the design district of helsinki.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After reading all of the good reviews, I think we must have just had an unlucky 1 night stay. We have stayed several times at the other GLO in Helsinki and have enjoyed it each time (although the current renovations are not the best).
At GLO Art, we were in the new building -- the room was comfortable but no more than any other normal hotel. We had hoped for something more here. There was an unpleasant smell from the pipes in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok but the only person there started packing up some of it when there was 30 minutes to go, and we noticed several people come in after that.
And I understand that the two people on reception don't help with bags, but my wife would have appreciated someone holding the heavy doors at the front while we struggled with (and dropped once) a few bags to get to the taxi.
Still, they did give us a late checkout of a few hours which we appreciated, so we have ranked it as 3 rather than 2.
None of this is major, but next time we will stay at the other GLO or one nearby it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean and designed rooms with great staff and service. Odd and fun interiors in main building is a nice experience. Rather ok hotel restaurant with good food and service aswell, not a fine dining restaurant but you won't be dissapointed if you take a quick dinner here when you checked in

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MondayDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was as gorgeous as it was comfortable and well positioned. The old castle architecture was breathtaking (don't be concerned your room will be drafty, the castle facade is just the foyer and common areas) the rooms are ultra modern with comfy beds and ensuites. I can say the Twin Room was a good size and the ensuite was private.The staff were amazingly helpful (a special shout-out to Marika who could not have been more helpful). The hotel is a ten minute walk from the center of town with the bonus of being in the design district. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone - I utterly fell in love with it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Slept at GLO for two nights. The reception took a little bit for the check in, but apart from that everything was OK. The room was big and clean with a very nice shower, wifi worked OK, breakfast with all you need. Quality of sleep was very good and the Hotel is just few minutes walking from the city centre. I like running and the beautiful coast is less than 2K from the Hotel.
Check out was quick.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The fact that this hotel looks like a castle from the outside is super cool. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, although small. They have lots of added perks like the sleep menu for perfect pillows, a hi-tech tv that has mp3 inputs and allows the setup of a wake-up call. We loved our one-night stay in the design district which was convenient to downtown Helsinki. The girls at the front desk were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlang83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,423 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
731 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $109 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing