We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel. Our room was small but very stylish and comfortable. Breakfast good and service excellent--staff very helpful.The hotel was an easy walk from the centre and quiet and close to the trams.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackOBennachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    689
    217
    61
    22
See reviews for
173
645
138
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Umeå, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel rooms seems to be newly renovated, with the type of quality I expect from a business hotel room, but for that purpose it was too small, just enough space for a double bed but no desk or other working area. Otherwise it was very good, a good bed and a nice bathroom. It was also slightly irritating that it was such a long walk to the room and passing several doors, most of them locked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I travel to Helsinki 15-20 times a year, and thus use very much of the city's hotels. Glo Art is a nice piece of news for me - recently renovated and really gained much in the new face lift. The staff is nice and professional, always up for helping and resolving whatsoever needs I may have had. The rooms are new and stylish. The only thing is that you often have to walk a long way in the corridors to get to the room. For me it is certainly not a problem, but for some may be. The best about the hotel, apart from the cozy and friendly atmosphere, is the kitchen - I really enjoyed dining at the hotel's restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PEKKA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diano d'Alba, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I think I will have to be more careful while selecting an hotel after reading Tripadvisor reports. Glo Hotel Art have excellent reviews and it's well positioned in the ranking, but ... I guess other travellers didn't have the room that I had!
The room was the size of a rat-cage, WITH EVEN NOT A SMALL TABLE TO PUT MY COMPUTER ON, no space to open the luggage, unless you don't consider the bathroom!, no room at all. Perhaps less than 10 sqm available including bathroom. A nightmare!
The shower was spilling water off to the ground, breakfast was average, no panorama. Yes, perhaps the position is fine, but there are plenty of hotels in the city centre...

Room Tip: A guy said that his room in the old building was fine. Surely better than room 340!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

GLO Hotel Art has a very impressive castle-like exterior, albeit in one wing - the other is a standard modern block. It seems that most of the rooms are located in the modern wing, as was ours. We grew somewhat weary of the many doors and corridors between the entrance and our room, some of which required the key card to open while others did not.

The room itself was satisfactory for a few nights, if a bit small. The impression is that fancy design and "features" get in the way of comfort. Our sliding bathroom door didn't close properly and the bathroom walls were mostly transparent, which might be awkward for non-couples/friends sharing a room. Also, the shower design led to water inevitably leaking under the door into the rest of the bathroom. Bed was quite comfortable, and the TV service was nice with decent selection of channels and pay-per-view items (even included a personalised welcome message on arrival).

Breakfast was standard buffet, usual choice of pastries, bread, meat, cheese and fruit. We were somewhat disappointed that hot items such as pancakes or omlettes were only provided at extra charge.

Overall, not sure that this hotel justifies its 4-star rating. However, it has a great location not far from the city centre. Tram lines 6 and 3B are only a street away, and we found a decent selection of cafes and restaurants in the surrounding district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E03bf085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

It felt like the hotel has focused more on "looking good" than being functional. The room was extremely small, but had a motorized bed, which was very comfortable. The bathroom has glass walls, so it doesn't offer much privacy. You have to show your key card several times both entering and leaving your room, which is for safety, but feels a bit annoying. The breakfast buffet and room also looked good, but the selection was quite small.

The location is good, in a quieter area just a short walk from the railway station.

We got a good deal, paying just under 70 euros per night for a double room including breakfast. For that price, I would definitely stay again, but based on my experience I would not be prepared to pay the rack rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
482 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was my tenth trip to Helsinki and the GLO Hotel Art topped the more than half a dozen other hotels I've stayed at on my prior visits.

The room was modern and had a good-sized flat screen television (that we never turned on once during our trip). The bed was comfortable. There was an iron and ironing board in the closet. The bathroom was impressive, especially the shower: it was enclosed in dark glass that jutted out into the main room.

The location is good, on a fairly quiet section of the street about five blocks west of Mannerheimintie (the city's main drag). The staff was friendly and helpful when I had questions. The breakfast buffet is served in the basement restaurant which has a nice, warm ambiance.

Although I don't have reason to visit Helsinki as I did back in the 1990s, on any future trips here the GLO Hotel Art is where I would hope to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing