We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good looking hotel”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good looking hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

It felt like the hotel has focused more on "looking good" than being functional. The room was extremely small, but had a motorized bed, which was very comfortable. The bathroom has glass walls, so it doesn't offer much privacy. You have to show your key card several times both entering and leaving your room, which is for safety, but feels a bit annoying. The breakfast buffet and room also looked good, but the selection was quite small.

The location is good, in a quieter area just a short walk from the railway station.

We got a good deal, paying just under 70 euros per night for a double room including breakfast. For that price, I would definitely stay again, but based on my experience I would not be prepared to pay the rack rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    698
    220
    63
    22
See reviews for
173
651
140
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
487 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was my tenth trip to Helsinki and the GLO Hotel Art topped the more than half a dozen other hotels I've stayed at on my prior visits.

The room was modern and had a good-sized flat screen television (that we never turned on once during our trip). The bed was comfortable. There was an iron and ironing board in the closet. The bathroom was impressive, especially the shower: it was enclosed in dark glass that jutted out into the main room.

The location is good, on a fairly quiet section of the street about five blocks west of Mannerheimintie (the city's main drag). The staff was friendly and helpful when I had questions. The breakfast buffet is served in the basement restaurant which has a nice, warm ambiance.

Although I don't have reason to visit Helsinki as I did back in the 1990s, on any future trips here the GLO Hotel Art is where I would hope to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Decent servide and good rooms (esp the small but decent washroom) ..however traveling to the room was a pain through the mutiple gates where you need to flash access cards! Breakfast was good and had variety and the staff was friendly..it is located very well - just 10 minute walk to the city centre etc. yet in a silent area..the price was a bit on the higher side though

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khosla_abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is situated a few blocks away from the main city center, so it is in a fairly quiet area. The hotel is an old Art Deco "castle" with an added modern wing. The old building is marvelous, beautiful and has interesting details. My room was in the modern wing (as I expect all standard, cheaper rooms are) which you access by walking down some corridors and passing through doorways which can be a bit confusing.
The room was modern and very comfortable with a small desk, armchair, tea/coffee making facilities etc. I enjoyed the quirky detail of having a tiger in my room. The tiger is featured in the pictures on the hotels website and I figured it was just a prop for the photo shoot - however I was greeted by a stuffed animal on my arrival to the room (you can actually buy it to take home with you if you wish). One detail of the room can be a bit uncomfortable if travelling with a friend etc.: one wall of the shower is made of glass (not completely see-through, but still...).
The breakfast was good, not especially varied but very adequate. I enjoyed the freshly baked bread and home-made (perhaps by the restaurant cooks?) jams. During my stay they offered at least apple, blueberry, gooseberry, rhubarb and apricot jam which were all delicious.
The hotel has a small bar adjacent to the reception. I had a glass of wine and some tapas from their menu in the "library" which was very relaxing after a day of work. The tapas were good and having two with a couple of slices of bread was enough for an evening snack/ small supper.
All in all a very good choice if you want a quiet and comfortable hotel and don´t mind a few minutes walk to the city center. The staff were all very friendly, helpfull and polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaH0j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel stays in the street next to main street, so is close to city centre. It looks like a castle but rooms are very modern. Our room was on the ground floor with court view. There was entrance to the garage, so round comming cars were disturbing us. Anyway room was nice but bit small and with wird folding bed. Thats why there was place behind the bed and you had all the nite problem with falling pillows ;((((((( Breakfast were tasty and there were inaf food. Garage parking wasnt hotel property, so you had to pay expensive private stay! Hotel receptionist was very very very kind and professional. She was so kind and professional that it start to be very quickly anoing and you felt that is just profesional smile. :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The exterior and lobby of GLO Art are the selling points- designed in a medieval castle style with the Art Deco flair- it fit right into the style of downtown Helsinki. Location is very nice, not right in the most happening spot in downtown, but within a short pleasant walk. Service is impeccable. The staff at the front desk is extremely helpful, everyone speaks perfect English. We stayed in the new part of the hotel, the room, albeit not very large, had a very nice modern design, comfortable bed. Very cool bathroom with a ceiling-mounted shower (for that "rain effect"). Breakfast was served in the basement, which looked like a renovated dungeon, in a very cozy way. While we would've liked a bit more variety in the breakfast menu day-to-day, all the food was well prepared, fresh and delicious. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaporozhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having read reviews here I expected much more from this hotel. This hotel is not "art", it is very average 4 star hotel with common minimalist design. It is modern but very far from being "wow". Things above averagee were "sleep menu" (you can ask at the reception for a special pillow, duver, pillow for foot, sleep mask, etc.) and quite interesting minimalist design of the room, but breakfast, room service, bathroom quipment, stuff cordiality was dissapointingly average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing