We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveler rating
580
838
286
83
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
838
286
83
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmart roomdesign districtkey cardnice hotelmain buildingart nouveaubigger roomcity centrereception areagreat showercomfort roomcold meatsbed was very comfortablebreakfast is servedporridgemain attractionsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,073 - 1,078 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed at the Linna for five nights in a standard double room in January 2011.
The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the city centre which we obviously hadn’t taken account of when we booked. Poor planning on our part. However, the local tram has a stop one block across from the hotel and the transport system in the centre of Helsinki - once you get the map - is reliable and reasonably economical with a city pass from the tourist office. However, Helsinki has only a ‘Flybuss’ service from the main airport - one with Finnair (£7 each) or the local service bus (£6 each) - which means that if you do not know your way around from the start your best option is a taxi. Helsinki taxis charge by time not distance, it appeared, and our journey from the airport to the hotel set us back 50 euros.
The hotel itself is in a quiet enough suburban road in the older part of Helsinki. The architecture of the hotel both internally and externally is original and adds to the effect of your stay. Our room came with a bath and overhead shower and was warm which was beneficial as the temperature never rose above -7c during our stay. Coffee and tea is provided in the room and there is also a mini bar and room safe. The room was well maintained and the housekeeping was efficient.
The breakfast room is the cellar of the hotel. During our stay we found that there was plenty of space when we attended at around 0845hrs each morning. The tables were cleared by the kitchen staff very efficiently so that there was never a struggle to find a clear table. The selection of breakfast food items was very good with the usual cold meats and yoghurts and was well as sausages, scrambled and boiled eggs and a wide selection of breads.
There are a series of steps leading up to the hotel which makes entry and departure with heavy cases tricky in icy and snowy conditions. The reception staff were quick to help us on departure by assisting with doors on our departure (in a nice way :-} ) which was a nice gesture and left a good feeling about the hotel.
Once orientated this hotel suited us fine for our stay in Helsinki. This is a medium range hotel part of a larger chain, but it retains its own character and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PilgrimPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We are avid world travelers, including all of Scandinavia. We were very pleased and satisfied with our stay and the services provided. Some reviews here are rather old and we were lacking nothing as of today, including free wifi. The rate was very competitive and felt well worth it. The room had everything one could expect, comfortable bed, many international TV-channels, minibar, desk etc. The public areas are beautiful and the breakfast buffet excellent. The staff was educated and courteous, even though we could have used a few more advices about restaurants. The Hotel is located on a quit street in nice walking distance to all of downtown. We would recommend anyone to stay here. A.S, CT, USA

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

A nice hotel in the center of Helsinki. Beautiful interiour of the entrance hall and the lounge.
Very nice staff.
Rooms - very small for a family. We were two adults and two children (6 and 1,5) - the rooms were too small to fit an extra bed and a baby cot in one room, so we chose an extra bed only and took the baby into our bed.
Breakfast ok - buffet.
As we had a Finish friend who'd pick up us by car, I cannot estimate how far it was to a bus/tram stop.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimist-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Hotel Linna is well located hotel and great value. The Lobby is very nice - however, the rooms are a little dated. The bed is very comfortable - however, there is no thermostat - so quite warm. The staff are brilliant but no porters.

Only downside was that the sauna is only open for 1.5 hours per day during dinner time which is quite inconvenient.

Otherwise, great hotel which I would use again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

A good value hotel clean friendly staff good value.
In a good location for sightseeing etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anawoods2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews