We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical but with a wonderfully contemporary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical but with a wonderfully contemporary hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stayed in Hotel Seurahuone for a couple of weeks and it was possibly the most comfortable hotel experience ever. This is a hotel immersed in Finnish history - all major names of Finnish political and cultural history used to meet and have a good time here. The hotel has combined the historical feel of the place with a contemporary style that is clear especially in the restaurant. The food is amazing in this place! The chef really knows what he is doing. All in all, everything works well and Seurahuone is a great base for both business and leisure travellers. I highly recommend Hotel Seurahuone for everyone!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    252
    118
    45
    13
See reviews for
76
204
70
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
City of Angels, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

I have stayed in Seurahuone many times. Every time when I visit Helsinki I first check what rate I can get in Seurahuone. It has an ideal location opposite the railway station. Both airport buses, Finnair bus and Bus 615, leave basically from the other side of the street. And you can walk everywhere in downtown Helsinki.
The rooms are furnished with taste. I like the art work by Gustav Klimt, that is hanging on the walls. The TV has several channels where you can get English programming, CNN and Euro Channel. Also in Finland you can get English/American movies where the spoken language is still English w/Finnish subtitles. That is rare in Europe.
The bathroom is well equipped.
The great breakfast is included in the room rate. And there is a computer and the internet free for guests' use. Also sauna is included, if you have time for relaxation.
I like the atmosphere in Seurahuone. It is a classy old hotel, oldest in Finland. And there are not busloads of tourists coming and going. All the guests seem to be private parties and families. I will stay again in Seurahuone.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while attending a trade show at the Helsinki Exhibition Centre.
The hotel is ideally located, opposite to the main railway station and it is only one stop by train (5 minutes) to the Exhibition Centre, with frequent trains, better than taking a taxis.

Upon arrival at the airport, I took an Airbus operated by Finnair from the terminal and the coach terminated at the main railway station. I did the same on the way out - very convenient.

The hotel is near shopping centres, restaurants, food courts and therefore an ideal place to explore the city after the exhibition every evening.

The building itself is full of history and a good landmark. It is apparently the oldest hotel in Helsinki. The team there is very efficient and friendly.

I had a room facing the main street and yet it was quiet enough!
High speed internet in room was a big bonus.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etravelcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

In general this hotel was in the perfect location. Walking distance from everywhere in the city. they may want to consider a deal with the car parking company across the street as it is the nearest place to park. The breakfast is excellent,lots to choose from, Our room was located on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel so it was very quiet but the smell was terrible in the hallway.Another thing you should know is ALL bedrooms are non smoking but they do have a smoking room on the second floor. The staff are very friendly but not very co-operative when there is a problem but i don't think that is a total reflection on all staff at this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Customer care if there is a problem
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LatviaIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed at the Seurahuone as part of a business meeting for three nights. The front desk staff were very helpful despite my late arrival: I was even upgraded to a Club Room. Speaking of which, my rather positive comments apply to that specific room type and I did not have the opportunity to experience "lower" ones.
The room was spacious with high ceilings, large-screen LCD TV, modern, yet stylish fittings (not that Ikea feeling) - and it had free LAN accees. Direct views on the Station's square (which you may like or not) with good sound proofing, so I was not bothered by street noise (or noise emanating from the aforementioned Disco (in previous reviews)). The bathroom, even if that type of room, was not to the highest modern standards but was fully functional with heating floor, which is handy. Checkout was efficient as well, and there is the station taxi rank just meters from the Hotel.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

We had a great 3 night stay here in August. Helpful, friendly staff with fantastic English let us check in early and sold us Helsinki cards at reception. The room was large, very clean, stylish and well-equipped. As Scots we're not used to Aircon and the lack of it was not a problem. The internal en-suite bathroom was clean and modern, with good products, plenty of good towels, a large mirror wall and a heated floor. The breakfast buffet was excellent with great coffee and choice of hot and cold, western, european and baltic offerings. On check-out the hotel has an ample luggage store. Excellent location for transport links, museums, galleries etc For its star-rating, location and price Seurahuone represents excellent value for money and more than a touch of luxury. It feels like a cross between an old grand hotel and a modern boutique, and the non-chain feel was part of its appeal for us. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Great room!
  • Disliked — Erm... no complaints!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheBookseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

Having no idea where I was, this hotel was perfect to start exploration of Helsinki. Buses from airport to Central railway station just over the road from the hotel . Ferry''s to Estonia not too far a walk. Perfect day excursion.The hotel, ye olde grande in style, room had all the modcons. lcd tv, ect. Very comfortable. breakfast selection fine.Staff friendly and helpful. Overall, value for money and would return but like everywhere in Scandi not in the school holidays.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#31 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing