We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Dreadful approach to customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful approach to customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were looking forward to staying in this hotel in December as a family. I was very disappointed to receive an email stating they were cancelling our booking and could move us to the Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza. No explanation and no word of apology. I have had no reply to my email by return and can only suggest you avoid this hotel as they have no concept of customer service, and not even a degree of common courtesy. They also liken themselves to HI and CP when they seem to be promoting their more established style on their website

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear sir
Thank you for your response. We are sorry for all the resentment.
I regret the impression that was given to your in our announcement concerning our temporary closure. I also appologise the lacking hotel's response to your first mail because of a misunderstanding.
We did try to give an optional choise in the best hotels possible, convenient high class HI in the city centre and the top hotel in Helsinki - CP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    203
    88
    37
    10
See reviews for
56
162
58
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chateau-d'Olonne, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Experience was OK but considering the value for money-ratio it was definately not worth the relatively high price. Location is good if not excellent but the hotel is old. The venues for the bar and the brasserie are beautiful but the rooms and hallways just look plain and worn-out leaving the over-all impression lame.
Breakfast buffet was definitely nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mme_Fre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. These kind of remarks are valuable to our future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the oldest hotel in Helsinki with nice 1900th century atmosphere. In the lobby the interior was old fashioned. Rooms were big and clean and quiet. Beds and pillows were extremely nice. They have exceedingly fine looking dining room. Service was excellent. All and all money well spent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MokkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am happy that your experience meets with our ambitions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location - could also be a bad thing as no A/C in the rooms hence windows need to be open.

1st night room was on the back and 4th floor - next to next doors A/C units so noisy all night. Got updgraded to a Club room for further 3 nights and this was on the front overlooking station. Still noisy with people and trams but OK.

Breakfast not as good as other Helsinki hotels in my opinion and ran out of croissants 2 days out of 4 which wasn't good.

OK for the rate that we got it for though........Would stay again at the right rate!

Room Tip: Ask for 4th or 5th floor, back left rooms as you come out of lift - from memory those around 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srp973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry for the trouble with the first room and the incomplete breakfast product.

Thank you also for giving a good tip for our future customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital of the World
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very cool prestige hotel from back in the day. They claim to be the oldest hotel in Helsinki, and I think they might be right. When you walked into the bar lobby the bar tender and the one old man in there stared at me as if they were ghosts. 80% of us slept bad for our enitre stay, each night. Perhaps there are some old haunted parts. Or maybe it was just the noise from the street, the awkward sideway placed bed. The breakfast gentleman is far from friendly and should not work in hospitality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the court yard iso the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldCTZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelSeuHP, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We regret the poor quality of your sleep and the attitude of some of our staff members. Your feedback has been processed in our staff meeting.

By the way - a legend tells that this house indeed has a ghost of it's own...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good old times. You can still feel the early 1900th atmosphere. ... but the rooms are very modern and clean. Excellent club rooms. Good menu in the restaurant. Breakfast quite good.
Even the hotel is close to main railway station, it is safe place to walk. Helsinki is safe and clean town.

Room Tip: Choose club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 476Kate1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A nice hotel just across the street from the central railway/bus station. Maybe It lacks some gloss, but has its own old face and feel, and rooms are fully equipped with everything you may need. Breakfast menu was really good and diverse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#20 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing