We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A beautiful Finnish Jugend Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Örebro
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful Finnish Jugend Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a good example of Finnish Jugend. This hotel was Helsinkis "Societes hotel" in the early 1900th. The restaurant is very beautiful and also the Bar Socis. A lot of jugend elements everywhere. Vey tasty breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokkaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    231
    106
    40
    11
See reviews for
68
188
63
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This little bit old-fashioned hotel is situated in the perfect city center, near the railway station and close to main shopping centers. We stayed here just for one night and did not have problems of any kind. The service was very good, all the personnel was very competent and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean with big LCD television, the bed was comfortable and also the bathroom, although bit small, was clean. The breakfast was also very good. I would recommend it certainly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first stay in this hotel and I was looking forward to it. The location is very central. Service was very friendly. The lobby is small and dark and the reception desk is also small. Bar was closed - an interesting decision in the middle of the busiest tourist season! Our group had four rooms so I was able to peek into different rooms. It appears that the (standard) rooms (and their bathrooms) are all different in size and shape. The room I stayed in was small and the bathroom (with bathtub) was very small. Bed was comfortable, but it was slightly too small for two people, as was the sheet. There was only pillow per person in the room. If you need extra pillows you have to get them from the reception - not something you wish to do when you are all ready to go to bed. There is no A/C so you have to open the windows to cool down the room. There is no minibar in the room so you better BYO. The sound insulation in the rooms is poor - you can easily hear noise from neighboring rooms. There is a nightclub next door, which is open to 4 a.m. In the rooms on that side of the building you can hear the disco bump through the night. TV has a good selection of channels - except CNN, which is listed but does not show. Breakfast buffet was ok, but the selection of hot foods was limited. As there is a wide selection of hotels in the same price category with better rooms and services in the center city of Helsinki I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor and away from the night club next door so you may be able to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ve8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent our a couple of days at the Seurahuone celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The junior suite facing the railway station was fabulous - well-appointed decor, beautiful bathroom (including a jacuzzi), and space relax in. The staff was very attentive and professional. The breakfast was sumptuous. In addition, the location was as central as it gets in Helsinki. Everything was within a walking distance. We had a fantastic experience and can recommend the Seurahuone without hesitation! We'll be staying at the hotel in the future as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexington_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I knew that this hotel very nice and rankink even better that regular ranking of this hotel.Nice old faschion rooms and athmosphere ,beautifull dining room with nice decorations everywhere like in old fashion casttle.Breakfast also good and staff nice and polity too.
Good food and good service in restaurant with reasonable price...if takink in to the consideration
local center prices.Ounly bad thing like usual or me ...no parking places.

Room Tip: Upper floors and not traffic sie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

what was good: comfortable beds, fantastic pillows

the design of the rooms is fantastic and they are quite large.

staff were very friendly and accommodating when we needed to change rooms (see below)

what was bad: there is a (might be two) nightclub near the hotel which was so unbearably loud that it kept us up until 2 AM. (we were facing the courtyard on the 3rd floor.) If you can't tolerate noise, I WOULD NOT risk booking a stay here. We tried 3 times to call the front desk to complain but no one answered so we had to get dressed and go downstairs to the main desk which was extremely frustrating.

That said, the hotel check-in lady was very apologetic and moved us to a quieter room.
quite a long queue to check-in as there is only one person at the desk.

There is only one very very old lift which makes for a bit of a wait sometimes (it serves 5 very tall floors and we were at the top)

Room Tip: if you think you might be susceptible to being kept awake by the thumping bass from the club nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this central hotel for a few days before starting on a tour, and enjoyed the slightly old-world charm and friendly hospitality. Other recent reviews tell it pretty much as it is, and we would agree with those who commented on (a) the need to open windows to keep cool, as there is no control over the air conditioning; (b) the value of an inside room for having a quiet night; and (c) the delightful decor of the ballroom converted to the breakfast room.

I could not make the wifi work, but a cabled connection in the room meant that was not a problem.

The ice machine on the third floor made lots of noise (not audible in the rooms) but no ice.

My wife cannot speak too highly of the quality of the gluten-free options available for breakfast. The bread was good, the bread rolls were very nice, and the chocolate muffins were out-of-this-world. And that is from a connoisseur of many places that do not succeed in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#20 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#46 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing