We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good for gluten-free breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for gluten-free breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this central hotel for a few days before starting on a tour, and enjoyed the slightly old-world charm and friendly hospitality. Other recent reviews tell it pretty much as it is, and we would agree with those who commented on (a) the need to open windows to keep cool, as there is no control over the air conditioning; (b) the value of an inside room for having a quiet night; and (c) the delightful decor of the ballroom converted to the breakfast room.

I could not make the wifi work, but a cabled connection in the room meant that was not a problem.

The ice machine on the third floor made lots of noise (not audible in the rooms) but no ice.

My wife cannot speak too highly of the quality of the gluten-free options available for breakfast. The bread was good, the bread rolls were very nice, and the chocolate muffins were out-of-this-world. And that is from a connoisseur of many places that do not succeed in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    231
    106
    40
    11
See reviews for
68
188
63
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kippaxs
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

An old and charming hotel right in the centre of Helsinki. Rooms old but well appointed and very quiet. We had to have the window open to keep cool (!) but it was still quiet because it faced into a "dead" courtyard. Good wifi; beautiful breakfast room and the breakfast was pretty good too; very helpful staff; and in a very pleasant city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnacles70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed just 1 night in this hotel but I would recommend it to others. I felt like back into beginning of XX c. Lovely! The room was very clean with windows facing the main square / central train station. It can be a bit noisy for those who sleep lightly. I did not mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Seurahuone for a week when having training in Helsinki. The hotel really has it's old charm... It is very well maintained and some of it's restaurants have just been renovated.

The location couldn't be more central; less than 200m to the main bus station, 50m to railway and metro station and trams and busses going right around the corner. Sokos depatment store just across the street, plenty of restaurants next door etc.

I had a single room which was quite recently renovated with good taste so it was really cosy; high ceiling, comfy bed, nice reading chair, soft lights, wide apron, flat tv, a desk etc. The room has everything you need, including an iron and an ironing board and free internet connection. The room is big enough and bed rather wide to be a single room. Bathroom is really tiny and the whole floor tends to get wet when having a shower.

Breakfast was fresh and tasty although it was the same every day. it had enough variety so that you don't need to have the same stuff every morning. Ambience is really nice in the breakfast restaurant. I didn't go to their bar or eat dinner in this one but what I understood, the place is pretty pricey.

There was one huge minus which was revealed to me when I was checking out and wanted to leave my luggage for storage for a few hours. There is only one tiny room, a wardrobe basically, for suitcases. They open the door for you in the reception and you have to put in your own stuff. No-one checks what you put in or take out so it's not safe at all (they can't even see it from the reception since it's around the corner). Since it's really small, it was full when I tried to put my large suitcase in so I had to take out some ten bags and re-organize them on the upper shelfs to squeeze in mine... Not what you expect from a relatively expensive 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnaTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamina, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Helsinki, next to the railwaystation, busses, trams and metro.
Interior is elegant and stylish. Its an old hotel with charm. Quiet rooms and nice service.
Breakfast was wide and good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Located directly opposite the central station, this hotel is a perfect place to explore this fascinating city from.You could equally walk from the ferry terminus if you arrive this way into the city.

The hotel is old, classically designed and full of charm. It has a warmth that many more modern properties so desperately lack and in Helsinki it does add something to a city that can be brutally cold during the long cold winter.

My room was on the 4th floor, accessed via the old elevator or a classical stair climb, it was quite compact and the bed sat sideways, but was comfortable. There was a nice seating area too to relax in.

Bathroom was very tight, but again beautifully equipped.

Breakfast was good, a decent selection of foods, hot and cold and fruit. Not the most extensive but perfectly fine.

I would suggest that whilst this hotel has good business facilities with free wi-fi, it is probably best suited to the leisure market looking for location over form and style, but it does work for all markets.

Only other thing seemed to be a lack of air conditioning, but to be honest for most of the year, this is hardly going to be a major issue.

All in all, a lovely hotel and one I would consider if I were travelling with the family.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a club room in March 2013, it is our second time in this beautiful Hotel and we are sure to come again and again as for us it has a remarkable aura of old good times and it is very different from modern chains of hotels, it is so special! It is special from the Reception area to the stairs and a high ceiling really big room with a view to Rail Way Station square which looks like it never sleeps and people are always there...

The renovated restaurant looks even better than in October 2012 - very carefully made renovation emphised the dignity of this place and the food selection is amazing for any age and taste.

The Hotel Team is friendly and helpfull

It is the right choice for your stay in Helsinki be you a businessman or a tourist!

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth extra pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#46 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing