We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Business in Helsinki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business in Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip in February 2013.

I would recommend this place to any business professionals who are heading to Helsinki, although I would have happily taken my fiance. Nice decor, warm bed (could have done with a thicker duvet to be fair but wasn't enough to put me off returning next time), central location right by the train and tram connections. Breakfast was good too although there was some restoration and development being done on the hotel at the time so the dining room was a little temporary.

My overall impression is that people in Helsinki are AWESOME! Such a friendly city. I was coming back from an exhibition and didn't have any Euros for the bus, then this kindly lady offered to buy my ticket. I actually think she saved my life as it was so cold (-18C) and I had no Idea how to get back, I think I'd have died of exposure.

Would love to see it again once the dining room is ready. might get a 5* next time. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingSpirit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    231
    106
    40
    11
See reviews for
68
188
63
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed three nights in a double room in February 2013. I loved the hotel, finally not another modernized hotel. Classical tasteful furniture, but with a modern bathroom. Good sized room with a good bed. The room had a pillow menu, good idea; I could order the right pillow for me. Breakfast was ok. I asked for a room with a nice view, but the big concrete building on the other side of the street was maybe not the nicest. Very good location, 100 m to the railway station, 300 m to the National Museum and in the other direction the Museum of Modern Art, Kiasma, close to shopping, bars and restaurants. Even though my room faced the street I could not hear noise, but I stayed there during the week days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaGohde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our 4 year old son. The breakfast buffet was great,with a wide variety of healthy options. It even had soft boiled eggs and a choice of bread so our son could have eggs and soldiers. The breakfast area has recently been renovated and is quite lovely. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the hotel well run and clean. It is also very conveniently located close to the railway station, lake and shops and quite secure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel was under renovation and very few things worked as it should, and besides that the hotel really needed a renovation very worn , but besides that I got a good room but with a lot of noise and lights from the streets outside the railway station..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked Hotel Seurahuone for my Nordic Travel trade trip. As a hotelier myself I like to experience and compare different hotels in different countries/ cities.
Hotel website is nicely done and that is very misleading, hotel is nothing like the website. Very centrally located but that is the only benefit.
No room service, no bar or restaurant closed due to refurbishment – no info about the closure or room service on their website…
Rooms very basic, very dates furniture and bathroom need urgently renovation, poor toiletries as squeezed soap and shampoo reminds more of public toilet rather than a hotel room.
Very poor breakfast served in of the meeting rooms with no choice of continental cold meats, badly made scramble eggs; no choice of yogurts instead a big bowl of yogurt where everyone can help itself remind more a staff canteen rather than ‘ high class business hotel’ how they like describe themselves.
No WIFI internet so if someone is working on IPAD no chance can work in the evening.
Overall very disappointing stay, surely will not be back and definitely will not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sofia M,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry for all the issues you had during your stay at the Hotel Seurahuone. We greatly appreciate your feedback, given as a hotelier yourself. This gives us an opportunity to improve our products, services and guest satisfaction. I’m also sorry that we failed to let you know about the renovation properly in advance. We have tried to tell all the guests about it when they make the reservation or in the booking channels. Your feedback tells us we should do this task better and we have already made several updates. Due to the renovation the restaurant is closed, which unfortunately also means room service is not available. The buffet breakfast is served at a banquet floor, but the content of it is as ample as it is normally. The restaurant will reopen in the beginning of March with a new style and looks.
In our hotel we have complimentary wired high-speed internet available in all guest rooms. Wireless internet connection is also available, with a small fee. While I understand that your stay was not satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
With best regards,
Timo Vehmas
Brand manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I expected much less from this hotel that is not part of a very big and esteemed chain. Although the beautiful building is old and the decoration is not the most recent, it has a friendly and welcoming charm. The location is excellent opposite to the railway station, Sokos, Elielinaukio, Forum and the Finnair city bus. And the woman who was working at the reception was so genuinely friendly and professionally helpful that it really made me feel so much more welcome than in any esteemed 4 or 5 star hotel where everything is kind of clinical.

The breakfast was not quite as good as in an excellent hotel but it was still ok, with the exception of the spelt porridge cooked over night, which was excellent. All in all it is a bit cheaper, with less rich guests, but everything is still neat and clean and a little bit more personal and ordinary but with an enduring charm. Even the single room was quite spacious and with a wider bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uneton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#46 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing