We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Helsinki charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Old Helsinki charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This lovely old hotel may not be for everyone but if you like historic places then there is no better. It is centrally located - spitting distance from the railway station. The rooms are small and fully functional with coffee, tea and bar fridge. There isn't any A/C and we used the fan and left the window open a but and is was really comfortable. This may be a problem in summer and has been covered here in depth by previous reviews. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we didn't have any club or road noise at all.
The hotel bar is pretty good and the bar man we had made us some pretty amazing drinks.
We had some minor issues with the free wired Internet and we were provided wifi, which is usually pay for use, until it was fixed.
Overall, this is an old hotel with all the charm.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    217
    98
    40
    11
See reviews for
63
176
62
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The location of the hotel could not be more central. Like said here earlier, hotel is quite datet, but has nice old charm.
My biggest complaints come from the noise, that wake me at 01 am. I stayed at the third floor. After a long working day I was exhausted, and the next day even more, since the beat from the next door nightclub kept me awake.
I called to reception, where they told me that the music will go on till 3.30 am. They were really sorry and promised to call to club and ask if they could turn the base down. I don't know if they did. The lady n the reception asked if I'm staying more than one night - guess I could have changed the room if I stayed longer, but I didn't.
The room was spacious, but had no AC. They have a pillow menu, and you can ask for a different kind of pillow from reception. I came to my room so late I didn't bother, which I later regretted since the two pillows in the room were really hard. But this was my mistake.
In the morning I had to call to the reception because there were electricity problems in my bathroom so that I could not use the hair dryer. The new one was brought really fast.
There is no sauna in the hotel. If I stayed on my leisure time I'd miss it, but this time I didn't have time to use it anyway.
Breakfast was ok, nothing to complain, but nothing to give special thanks either. Bar of the hotel is expensive - at least in my opinion nearly 12 euros is a killer price of a drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is safe from the nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Elina S. Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience at the Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki. We would like to apologize that we failed to offer you a peaceful sleeping experience. All comments received from our guests are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We have agreed a level of decibels that the club may not exceed. We have notified them about the incident and asked them to keep better control of their music level in order to ensure a good night sleep at the rooms close to the club.

I'm very pleased you liked generally our hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Yours sincerely
Timo Vehmas
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice-looking hotel with old-fashioned, but comfortable furniture - chairs in rooms and in restaurant are very good. Breakfast - also good. But - no air-condition (in summer it could be terrible, because, the windows are looking on the busiest corner of the city), no- sauna, no- gym. Only funny signs on some doors, like "Telephone" are very nice. By stying you've the feeling to be in middle of 1930 :). Coffee for breakfast was outstanding good! The assortment for breakfast - not outstanding, but very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimurAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel has succeeded in maintaining some of its old charm and combining elements that bring the hotel to the 21st century. The rooms are warm and their decor is inviting. The breakfast leaves a little to be desired for. The only issue I had with this hotel, really, was the lack of airconditioning in the guest rooms.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel is quite central, so especially if you're traveling over the weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Being the oldest continuously run hotel in Helsinki, it is no surprise that Seurahuone is located in an old historical building that has some of the old world charm with old fashioned ornate decor, impressive stair cases etc.

The rooms vary in size and lay-out. No air conditioning.

There is a lot of traffic in front of the hotel, because the hotel is in the centre of the city, opposite to the train station and busy streets.

Breakfast is decent and it is served in a huge and impressive dining hall.

I have been in this hotel a few times and I have mixed feeling about their service: most times the service has been excellent, but a few times they have failed miserably providing appalling service!

It is very unusual for a Finnish hotel not to have a sauna, but Seurahuone does not have one.

The service has been good most of the times, but twice they have failed miserably.

Their rack-rates are not worth paying for, but if you get a good prize and like old world style, then go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The TV could have been moore modern and litlle bit bigger and moore movable and moore channels,further moore ,bad AC,but I didn`t ask about it so maybe it was my fault so I had to open the window all night,with some noice from street,but I slept well anyhow.
The breakfast was very good and varied,but there should have been stronger cheese also

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bernt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great hotel, very centrally located. We had a club room on the 5th floor which overlooked the railway station & square, yes there was some noise in the evening (thanks to a street entertainer) but once the windows were closed the room was sound proofed. The room was spacious and very comfortable (king size bed, 2 chairs for relaxing, desk area) with lovely wooden flooring, the bathroom was on the small side but well equiped. No air conditioning due to the age of the hotel but a fan is provided in the room.
Breakfast was served in the old ball room, there was the usual choice of food & gluten free bread provided on request. The roof bar & resturant were closed for the summer when we visited in July, think they both reopen mid august. No parking at the hotel, we parked in the nearby Kamppi shopping centre underground carpark, which you can buy a discounted ticket for at the hotel reception on check out, cost 20 euros for 24hr a saving of around 10 euros. There is also the railway carpark directly oppoiste the hotel but not aware of the parking costs.
As previoulsy mentioned in other reports, would recommend a walk down the grand staircase in the hotel to take in the spendor of the hotel (there is a small lift if like us you were on the top floor).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#28 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing