We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ELEGANT HISTORIC HOTEL; CITY CENTRE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ELEGANT HISTORIC HOTEL; CITY CENTRE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

This beautiful, elegant, historic hotel is my favorite turistic hotel in Helsinki. It is a gem. Just in city Centre. Nice rooms with nice view. And the staff is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurinkoonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    252
    118
    45
    13
See reviews for
76
204
70
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

I would like to recommend Hotel Seurahuone in the centre of Helsinki. The hotel is located close to railway station and local bus station - some of them go directly to Vantaa airport. As the location of this hotel is comfortable it seems to be a good place for conferences, meetings and accommodation during business trips. No complaints with regard to food, cleanliness and service. Last but not least - try the Finnish sauna.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krrnadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Seurohuone for three nights. The staff were lovely, they couldn't have been more polite and helpful. The room itself was spotless and looked great - although it was boiling hot which made for a rather uncomfortable first night, despite it being 0 degrees outside! (radiator refused to be turned down and I felt very environmentally guilty opening the secondary double glazing to cool down!) Perfectly located right opposite the station, had a tram stop a few meters away and handy for the airport bus too, which left almost from outside the front door and only costs EUR 5.90. Mind you, central Helsinki isn't that big, and being so central it was easy to walk to most of the sights, and to the ferry port for a trip to Tallinn (would definitely recommend that too). I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Seurahuone for two nights, as a stopping-off point before going to St. Petersburg by train. We had the least expensive rooms, which are smaller and more basic than some of the pictures you see online. Still, they were clean and entirely acceptable, given the price.

On our first night, we belatedly discovered that many of the restaurants were booked solid. We were tired, and ended up eating in the hotel's dining room. The space was clearly quite elegant at one time, but is now showing it's age. Although we were the only people eating there (never a good sign), we were surprised by how good the food was. The breakfast bar was good by European standards as well. Although the bar looked cosy, we didn't try it out.

The big draw of the hotel was it's location (directly across the street from the train station). That made our early morning train departure very easy and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a trip to see U2 at Olympic Stadium.

This is a delightful "Old World Elegance" hotel located directly across from the Central Train Station and bus terminal. By the way, the Finnair airport coach that runs every 30 minutes arrives and leaves from the bus terminal (from the hotel, cross the street and walk to the left side of the train station; the airport coach leaves from the very first bay; you can pay the driver - about 6 Euros one-way).

The hotel has great elegance. As you enter the lobby, glance to the right and you will see the large dining room where breakfast is served. The room looks like it could host a state dinner. In front of you, the staircase reminds you of a bridal gown. The elevator is to the right and has a hinged door that opens outward. The reception desk is immediately on your left.

The rooms are spacious and elegantly furnished. Everything is spotless. Different types are pillows are offered, and provided within minutes upon request.

If anyone were to complain about the breakfast, I would say that I am glad I am not married to them. The breakfast is outstanding. An array of hot items, including sausages, scrambled eggs, ham, cheeses, porridge, and cold items such as fruits, yogurts and cereals are offered. Also offered are juices, cakes, pastries, teas and coffees are offered. The staff worked tirelessly to clear plates and tables while everyone made their way back for seconds and thirds!

Complimentary breakfast in the U.S.A. is typically corn flakes, cement muffins, fake orange juice and cheap coffee. So, for American visitors, this breakfast was beyond expectations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed here with my partner and brother in one double and one single room over two very hot nights in August. We used discount vouchers so the price was very reasonable. The location is good to get to all the sights. The hotel itself is an Art Deco masterpiece. The staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good, with a good choice, apart from the usual bacon and sausages not being to UK/Irish taste, but that's everywhere in Europe, so can't be critical about that.
The main drawback is the lack of air conditioning, which means you have to have a fan on all night, or have the windows open, either of which increases noise. Most of the year in Finland this does not matter, but on our stay, it did!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFC1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

I didn't feel this was a good value hotel. The rooms are very nicely furnished (5*) and spotlessly clean but everything else I found very average. We were on the 5th floor - by the noisy generator on the roof that other reviews have mentioned, and at the back of the hotel so directly overlooking the windows of other hotel rooms so hardly an inspiring view. We couldn't move as the hotel was fully booked when we arrived. There's no air con so we had no choice but to leave the windows open at night and put up with the noise. the electric fan provided was essential. Housekeeping did not wash/replace used coffee cups each day and one day when we returned to our room for a snooze at 4pm they hadn't been at all - they then wanted to come in at 4:30pm meaning we had to go out again. Hardly relaxing. The hotel bar was lovely, very 'classic' but closed on weekends!! Breakfast was a bit of a free for all - very busy at the weekend though the staff did their best to replenish food when it ran out (though we had to ask them to do this). As we were paying 135-155 euros per night I didn't think this was reasonable for this level of service. They did give us a 40 euro discount when we left. Would I stay here again - yes, if I had to but I'm sure there must be nicer hotels in Helsinki for this kind of price. I moved on to Turku and stayed at the excellent Sokos City Bors (see review), for only 61 euros a night, I felt even more dismayed at the Helsinki experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#45 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#31 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing