We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in the center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Simonkentta to your Saves list
Scandic Simonkentta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We loved this nice hotel. Found a nice price online and booked it for our short trip to Helsinki. The hotel is right in the city center close to all shops, restaurants, sights etc. Nice rooms, nice breakfast buffet, nice staff. Very nice! Will definately live there again next we go there, if we can get the same nice price.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed for a single night, chose the hotel for its location and fairly good price.
It's very modern, slightly bland, in a great location attached to Kamppi shopping centre which has a bus and metro station. Only 5 mins walk from the central rail station so handy if you want to get the express bus from the airport.
I arrived very late but no problems with check-in.
My room (256) was pretty small with a very small window due to its corner location. Decor was a bit spartan, but it had an LCD TV and the bathroom was clean and modern. All in good condition.
Aircon controls did not seem to make any difference to the temperature, it was a bit too hot for me and I had to open the window for a bit.
Did not get a good nights sleep due to noisy aircon, mini bar fridge and a lovely person next door shouting on the phone at 4am.
Shower in the bathroom was fine. Handy to have an iron in the cupboard too.
Breakfast buffet was pretty good, always included with Scandic. A couple of dishes looked a bit crusty, but I skipped those. Nice view over Kamppi from the restaurant.
So no real complaints, just would have appreciated a quieter night's sleep !

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JCSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

This hotel is in a very central location, five minutes walk from the rail station, main tram stops and next door to the bus station.

Despite its busy location and the close proximity of a range of bars and restaurants we found it to be quiet despite having the window open due to lack of air conditioning.

The hotel is very stylish throughout although some people may find the "wet" bathrooms a little odd. Other reviews have mentioned the porthole window from the bedroom to the bathroom but this is quite high and opaque and did not give us a problem !

Breakfast was excellent - great choice of hot and cold items plus local specialities such as herrings.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly - all in all an excellent stay.

  • Liked — Location and stylish decor
  • Disliked — the wet bathroom was a little odd
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoodleandFaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in July. We chose this hotel because it is a short walk from both the railway station and the Finnair bus. We got a good rate by booking with the hotel directly, and the hotel seemed to represent good value for accomodation in Helsinki.

The hotel is very centrally located with several shopping centres close by-Kamppi and Forum, It is about a 20 minute walk to the harbour with the outdoor market. Most sights seem to be within walking distance. There are two medium sized supermarkets close by- one in the basement of the Forum shopping mall- for buying groceries for a picnic.

The hotel is very modern. We liked the very funky red couches.

The rooms themselves are utilitarian- two single beds that could be pushed together, a small desk area, two small arm chairs and a mini bar. There is free high speed internet in the room which is great.

The standard rooms look over the hotel entrance. Rooms overlooking the Kamppi square are more expensive.

The staff were very accomodating. We were able to check in by 8:30 am which was terrific after an overnight train journey. We didn't like our first room much and changed rooms quickly with no fuss, to one with a much better view..

The included buffet breakfast is very good with a large selection of hot and cold items. They provide sandwiches, coffee and juice if youhave an early flight.

One complaint came from my daughter. Although kid's movies were free for the summer..they kept repeating the same few! I thought that bathroom cleaning could be greatly improved.

It is a good choice if you are looking for good value accomodation in Helsinki, and don't plan to spend much time at in your room. However, if I were planning to spend a lot of time in my room, I might want a place with a bit more luxury.

  • Liked — buffet breakfast, internet and location
  • Disliked — bathroom could have been cleaner, few kid's movie choices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachkat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

I booked a room at this hotel after a friend of mine recommended it to me. Location is very good for vacation traveler like us, though it would be nice if the entrance was sign posted! We couldn't figure out where the reception is, ended up wandering into the building through the floor below, ended up emerging from different building. Not sure how that happened, but we circled the entire building before we came to the reception. Check in was quick and easy, proper information was given and the receptionist wrote breakfast time on our key card folder. Breakfast time slightly differs on weekend days, so it was a very good touch. Lobby had very pleasant atmosphere, and two computers for free internet access, and bar and restaurant was easily accessed from the lobby. Very intuitively designed.

Our room was on the 6th floor, and coming out of the elevator, we were greeted by a stunning view of the former bus terminal, now a pedestrian square and birds eye view of the city. Room was good size, beds were soft, but comfortable. Very elegantly designed room, including a round screen window of the bathroom. Even though the bathroom window make a good design, we diddn't think it was logical or practical to have a window for the bathroom, though. If it was all frosted or non transparent, it wouldn't be a problem, but normal transparent rim around the frosted part? Even though no one would care to see me in the bathroom, knowing that there's a direct view into the bathroom isn't exactly comforting.

Also shower had one of those movable plastic shells instead of curtain, and it wasn't meant to be closed all the way, so water splashed out quite a bit on the floor toward the sink area. Also hooks for the towel were right on the wall where water splashed, so the towels got bit wet while taking a shower. Probably better to keep it on top of the sink counter than keep them hanging there.

Our room's window had the view to the entrance below, and because the way building stood, it really amplified street noise from streets in front of the hotel, but since our rate was quite cheap, I suppose it's a good compromise.

Breakfast consisted of large selection out of buffet. Even though my girlfriend liked the breakfast, I didn't find anything particularly attractive. Breakfast can get very crowded at certain hour it seems. Literally every table was taken on top of people at buffet table picking their food.

It would have been nice if there was some in-room amenities, like electric kettle and a couple of instant coffee/tea bags.It's a nice touch that they do sell a couple of games at the lobby shop, like cards and domino. Even though domino sets were of low quality and sold for 4 euro, it provided us with a few hours of entertainment in the evening.

All in all, it was a good hotel for us.

  • Liked — Most of things
  • Disliked — Bathroom window and shower
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank polarrrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

I occasionally stay at this hotel as the Scandic chain is my favorite. However this is not my favorite Scandic hotel in Helsinki. The location is very central, almost too central for my taste. It feels it is not really a refuge from the bustling city, but more like a part of the city. The hotel is modern and quite impersonal. The rooms are very small. There is no pool.

Still, you get the great Scandic breakfast. Also the hotel restaurant is quite ok + there are innumerous other options nearby.

  • Liked — breakfast, restaurant
  • Disliked — impersonal, sterile feeling and small, not very clean room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fin_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

This was a very nice hotel. Just a 5 min walk from the train station, where the Finnair bus also lets off. The common area was more than presentable, lots of glass with a view across the square.

Check-in was standardly efficient. I had to work a bit for a room with a view, but it was worth it: instead of the check-in parking area, we were able to watch the to and fro of the Kamppi Centre square.

The room had its charm, lots of wood, frosted porthole window into the bathroom. Bed was comfortable, bathroom well appointed. Everything was spotlessly clean. Not a peep from the other rooms or hallway.

Breakfast was quite a feast, lots of variety, very good quality. We had to skip our last breakfast due to a very early flight, but the desk staff directed us to the coffee and pastries they had for such occasions.

We had a good time and would recommend this hotel to anyone, as we would Helsinki - a great town!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank ckdalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#4 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#30 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing