We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Central location...”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A very modern hotel inside and out, very Finnish. Nearby, central train station, museums and Esplanaden shopping district. Our spacious room offered a wonderful view of the city, also a comfortable bed, a wardrobe,
writing desk and soft chairs. A/C was surely needed in July and very comforting. Nice bathroom with all amenities. Buffet breakfast was very good with many choices. Friendly and helpful staff.
Overall, a good choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    743
    283
    59
    31
See reviews for
268
380
149
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Maybe it's just a British thing, but I do like having a kettle in my hotel room so I can have a coffee whilst getting ready, but there wasn't one. Apart from that the hotel was clean and tidy and very warming to guests. The bar and mini bar was fine, as was the morning breakfast.

Location wise, it's right in the middle of Helsinki, however on a very steep hill (not great for wheelchairs). The rooms are spacious, and the bathroom is really well designed.

Would I come back? Yes, as it's a nice clean hotel with friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UK_AndyL_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is normal, maybe average. The weather was very warm, so the room was hot in the night. The room were we stayed is opposite the entrance of the hotel, second floor but quiet. The staff was polite and friendly excluding the staff in the restaurant during dining. Maybe they were too busy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south and west are quiter (?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuula_R451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragoer, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the place to be if you want to experience Helsinki, location is perhaps the best you can get, the hotel is good, friendly staff, good atmosphere, price ratio is book at a saturday and in good time, so you get the best price, you are close to publlic transportation which is really good to use going around the city (trams), I can highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Get on the 4th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemming M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for a recent wedding - when we arrived (12:30am) we were told that they only had smoking rooms left - we protested that as an asthma sufferer this wasnt going to be a good nights sleep - the staff placed us in a triple bed room - which really should have been the first option as no one was coming after us to check in at 12:30am. My brother however wasnt as lucky and he and his partner had to be moved to a sister hotel.

Room wise - if your room faces towards the Kampii Centre be sure to avail of the black out blinds as there is one "time square - esque" tv screen that flashes all night long. If your room is on the front of hotel - the Vatican night club will keep up awake until 4am.

Location wise - hotel is in the centre of helsinki, 5 minute walk from the port and the Esplande. Breakfast in the morning is all you can eat.

Room Tip: Room wise - if your room faces towards the Kampii Centre be sure to avail of the black out blinds as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire_NiMhurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The rooms are the size of clown cars. The bathroom and floors were NEVER cleaned during our 7 day stay. The hotel refused to turn on the air conditioning when the temperature outside was 87 degrees F with humidity. Therefore, we had to keep the windows open all night to the city sounds. People parties outside all night long. Buses, trains etc....got very little sleep. Breakfast was ok but I saw many people use their hand to pick out bread, cheese, and pastries so I didn't eat breakfast. Staff tried to be helpful but there were not enough fans for all the rooms. I don't usually stay at hotels like this but we were with a hockey team. My suggestions, TURN ON THE AIR-CONDITIONING! And clean the floors......

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_American_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just a short walk and you are in the shopping district of Helsinki. We think there are some good restaurants close by but as it was Mid Summer holiday, and a Sunday, nothing much was open in the evening. The room was quite small but sufficient and clean. I found the staff at the front desk to be helpful but my travelling companions don't agree as the staff didn't seem to be concerned about helping them to find a place to eat dinner. Even the restaurant in the hotel was closed. It was suggested to them to take a snack from what was on sale in the lobby snack stand - potato chips for dinner. Luckily the buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice in abundance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#32 of 65 in Helsinki
1,472 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
930 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 65 in Helsinki
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Helka
#13 of 65 in Helsinki
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing