We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Centrally located nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Simonkentta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Centrally located nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Simonkenttä is centrally located next to Kamppi's shopping mall, subway and bus stations, and tram stop. The main railway station isn't far away.

Check in was quite efficient and our kids were nicely paid attention to. Our room was clean but quite average and pretty small for four of us, even though it was some kind of family room.

We enjoyed the breakfast which was quite versatile. The sauna was alright.

The room rate was expensive but that's how it is in Finland, you just have to suck it up :)

This was our 2nd time in Simonkenttä and I could stay once more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papaija2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    685
    253
    50
    24
See reviews for
236
345
137
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki is right in the center of Helsinki, in the heart of everything, shopping, restaurants and shops of all kinds. Comfortable rooms, a very nice breakfast is included,
with a nice selection of breakfast items. We would recommend this hotel for comfort and price. The tram stops right outside the hotel, and travels around the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacombs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

In contrast to the previous hotel I booked in Helsinki, everything was included here, and the customer service was great!With everything (breakfast,wifi, sauna and gym use) it felt like what a hotel should be.

Room was clean, comfortable with good bedding, had a flat screen TV and desk and minibar (which I didn't use) and the location can't be beat. Really excellent location for transportation links, and was close to museums, sights, and summer events. Staff was welcoming. Sauna was great as well! And did I mention the breakfast? And when it was time to leave, I was able to walk five minutes to the airport bus (bus # 615) which leaves right near the train station

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maproot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed in Superior Plus room. It was big, clean and modern with in-room sauna, that has a glass wall with great view. Room also has a comfortable couch in front of TV.

Location is perfect in the middle of the city with view over Narinkkatori square. Forum shopping mall is across the street.

Staff was friendly but official. Breakfast has good selection.

Overall great choice if you chose Superior Plus room.

Room Tip: Choose top floor room for good view over the city, especially if you took the room with a sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a business conference in June 14. Great location in the City, near good bars and restaurants. The rooms are fine, not the best standard but nothing to put you off. Free wifi, clean rooms, comfortable beds and decent bathroom/ shower. The breakfasts are very good with a great choice. The bar in the hotel has great views over the square. Tram stop right outside the hotel and main train station 5 minus walk away.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here twice in June. As stated by other reviewers the location is perfect. Our rooms were basic but well-maintained and clean. The beds were very comfortable and there was no problem with noise.The value was excellent because of the summer rates and the restaurant vouchers I received due to my Scandic Friends membership.We had two meals in the restaurant and found the food to be very good, particularly the steaks. We experienced outstanding service from Marjo in reception who helped us with some problems in a very friendly and positive way.
A high recommendation for this hotel, especially with the summer rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent 4 days at this hotel for a conference in June. There was nothing remarkable about it and no problems. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Helsinki. The rooms were, as expected, small(ish) but had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable and the shower excellent, so there was really nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was quite good with a good selection of items and fresh stuff coming out regularly. The location can't really be beat so overall we felt like it was good value for our money. I would pay this much for a similar hotel elsewhere but everything in Scandinavia is expensive so you have to alter your expectations just a bit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#27 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#30 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing