We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent 4 days at this hotel for a conference in June. There was nothing remarkable about it and no problems. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Helsinki. The rooms were, as expected, small(ish) but had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable and the shower excellent, so there was really nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was quite good with a good selection of items and fresh stuff coming out regularly. The location can't really be beat so overall we felt like it was good value for our money. I would pay this much for a similar hotel elsewhere but everything in Scandinavia is expensive so you have to alter your expectations just a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

The good thing of this hotel is its location. hotel situated heart of the city. Walking distance from Central Railways and Bus Station. Tram goes to every part of helsinki from Hotel Door.Room is good. but Standard room doesn't have any facility like coffee maker,any Bath amenities but room was well cleaned. Breakfast was nice and testy.there is sauna but due to my meeting timing i could not have the same. Helsinki Shopping and Party life just all around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virendra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the centre of the city. The view from some of the rooms is over a square outside of a shopping center, not such a good view from all the rooms. Rooms are very Nordic, with pine everywhere. Beds are comfortable, air conditioning works well, shower is hot and powerful.
Breakfast can be very busy because its a big hotel, but the food that should be hot is hot, and refreshed regularly.
The staff are plentiful and helpful.
Beware though, there is a slope up to the hotel. So if mobility is an issue this might not be the place for you.
Most certainly to be recommended though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here during the week of New Year, together with friends and family.
Our room was a bit small for two and a baby, although everything was available and the bathroom was very nice.

Breakfast buffet had everything. It was very busy during the breakfast, so getting a table with 4 adults, a 7-year old and a baby was sometimes hard.

We watched the fireworks from the terrace.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and I can say that it is an appropriate place for a business trip: firstly, it is situated in the very center of the city - 5 minutes away from the railway station, secondly, it is surrounded with small restaurants and, so is not a problem to find a place for dinner, thirdly, they serve very good breakfast and the restaurant is spacious, so there are plenty of seats and you don't have to wait at the entrance. However, the bathroom is poorly supplied, there are no tea facilities in the room and I cannot say that they are keen on cleaning, but all these small deficiencies will not spoil your stay if you are not too demanding.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the entrance are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been in Helsinki for business and this hotel is in a perfect location. From there it is really convenient to reach the station and main tram lines, so for me it was very easy to reach my working place. Other than that it is walking distance to the main touristic attractions, so every evening I could visit the city as a tourist.
I did not like so much the furniture style, that is totally different from the modern style of the lobby and the breakfast room. Altough the room was very clean and confortable.
The breakfast was rich, various and very fresh.
I would definitely go back and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

It is a nice hotel, in the heart of the city, well positioned for shopping or travel, since bus station and rail train stations are 3 minutes from there.

The breakfast was too crowded, with no tables available, so people became aggressive, pulling chairs from other tables, etc, which I found not so peasant.

The room was ok, but not the best bed and pillows, and the cleaning of the room was not as it should be.

I guess you can say it is ok for the money it costs, but I would not return there for my next trip-lucking charm and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#35 of 66 in Helsinki
1,597 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
624 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $121 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing