We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Environment Conscious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki hotel in Helsinki is a great hotel with fantastic amenities such as a restaurant, room service, fitness and business center and a bar/lounge. The hotel offers both rooms and suites. The rooms feature wooden floors and satellite TV. Free high speed Internet access is another feature. Similarly, there is free access to the gym and sauna. The hotel allows pets. The location is perfect with Esplanaden shopping area close by as is the Helsinki Central Station. The view from the bar, terrace and lobby restaurant especially of the palace is superb. The free breakfast is unique as the items are made from organic ingredients. For weight watchers, gluten-free and lactose-free options are made available. The hotel is an environment friendly hotel and guests would do well to use the free bicycle facility or the walking pole on rental.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShahidCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near kamppi. It is clean and functional and overall I had a good sleep during my three night stay. My only problems with the hotel are the following:

- the check-in desk is permanently crowded. Always expect long waits if checking in and out. The hotel should get more staff at peak times or introduce self service check in.
- if counting on the taxi rank outside, expect long waits. Better to book cabs at least an hour in advance.
- most or the towels in my room were taken away during my stay and not replaced, so that on the last day I was left with a small wet towel.
- room service is an extortionate EUR15 extra. You read right, 15 euros to have a meal in your room. Madness.

Other than that, it's an ok hotel. I slept well and ate fairly well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel is very much a business hotel, usefully sited downtown. Room was very minimal, and a bit tired, but sleep quality was acceptable. Relatively good soundproofing. Breakfast is buffet, good selection of hot and cold items, breads, pastries, fruit, hot oatmeal etc. Pretty busy though, looked like peak time is about 7.30am.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed five nights at the hotel on a business trip. I had stayed at the hotel more than ten years ago and was afraid that the place would look worn out. I was luckily wrong. It is still in good condition and I like the Nordic functional interior design of the hotel. Breakfast buffet is good apart from the fact that they only served whole unpeeled fruit. Who has time in the morning to start peeling and slicing a pineapple, for example! The other negative comment relates to the sauna. They close it already at 8.30 pm! Otherwise I was content with my stay and if the two faults I found do not bother you, go for it. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasteLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very centrally located. Has good breakfast and good services. Also a nice restaurant with reasonable price. Next door to shopping centers!

It was Christmas period when I visited, hotel was quite full but still rather pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie_Tse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Scandic Simonkenttä has a good price and quality relationship. The location is perfect and hotel has a nice bar with a view to central Helsinki. Rooms are just basic but clean and have wooden floor. Service is efficient and unfortunately a little distant.

The breakfast buffet did not meet up to the same standard, selection was cheap. The view saved allthough a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aukusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed in Simonkentta for a weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel has great location: you can walk there from the train station in 5 min, but the area is already calmer that just around the station.

We chose a room with private sauna and it turned out to be a delightful experience. The sauna is easy to operate and heats up in less that 30 min. Besides, the room was located on the upper floor and the sauna had a window, so you can enjoy warmth and the view on city lights at the same time... It was a perfect final of every day in winter Helsinki.

The room itself was modern and clean, although not spotless: small stains on the carpet, everything else OK.

Nothing bad to say about breakfast. Good selection, both cold and warm, including a few typical Finnish things like smoked fish, rye and rice pies, berry soup (tasty alternative to packaged juices which I personally don't like =)

Tip 1. If you book your room on Scandic site 28 or more days before arrival and prepay, you have much better price. We paid 137 euro per night. I checked the price for our dates a few days before our arrival, and then it was 200 euro.

Tip 2: We had a kettle, bathrobes and slippers in our room but not all room type include them. All the amenities for each room type are listed on Scandic site, so look it up if this is important for you.

Room Tip: We had a room with private sauna and never regretted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariiaBorisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,415 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,539 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
641 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $124 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing