We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Scandic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were at the Marski 6 years ago in Helsinki and this time the Simonkentta had the better pay in advance deal. Super close to the train station and a million other things in the center of town including that nice outdoor market with all sorts of food. Good breakfast if a bit of a zoo. Decent lounge, pleasant check in, clean rooms, decent TV (if a bit weird to figure out the channels), happy with this choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in Oct 2013.
Excellent location for visiting the city, just at a walking distance from the main touristic points. There is a street market in the plaza just behind the hotel, with artisan foods from many different countries. A variety of stores and restaurants in the vicinity.
Quiet room, well equipped with lots of power outlets, an iron machine with board (very rare in European hotels), nice bathroom. Internet worked well.
Excellent breakfast buffet. Excellent taxi service, that you can arrange the night before your departure.
Courteous and well trained front desk clerks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have just had my 3rd visit. Simply love the location, which is right at the center of everything. Everything fully lives up to my expecations in the hotel. One particular thing to highlight could be the Wifi connections. I am a seasoned traveller, and I have had many negative experiences with complicated setups. Not at this hotel though, you simply connect and you may surf. No need to re-enter passwords, room number, last name or anything. Breakfast was nice, lots of variety. I will definitely love to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The room we had was quite basic, but very nice. A bit small though.
It was in the 1st floor, facing the road, but we weren't interrupted by the noise.
The hotel is in a good overall condition.
We were in the hotel's sauna and gym, which were both very nice, quiet and in a good condition.
The breakfast was REALLY great, with a very diversified menu and high quality food.
The location of it is really good, as there's a tram stop just outside the hotel's door. The central station is also just a few minutes walk, and there's a shopping mall, restaurant and bars just around the corner.
We were very satisfied with this hotel, especially considering the low price (in comparison with Helsinki...). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

this hotel in the centre of Helsinki is quite new and has a contemporary styling. Rooms were neat and clean and I loved the Scandinavian look. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had, so much choice that I felt sorry that I could not enjoy more. Unfortunately the bar doesn't open until 5 o'clock, what is quite odd from my point of view. I thought this hotel quite expensive per night, but aren't all hotels in Helsinki priced like castles.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the road, but noise didn't hinder my night's rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Even if this hotel has been in use already in 14 years it stands for good Finnish design and quality. We got the room in 6th floor with the view towards Kamppi, the House of the Parliament and we could even see the amusement park Linnanmäki. The room was bright, spacious and tidy. Extra points were given to the bathroom with many practical solutions.

The only minus was the pillow. It was like a pile of rags. It is time to change them.

The breakfast was quite good. It is better to go there early or just before the closing time. We went about 9:30 and it was very crowdy.

Location is fantastic whatever you like to do in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel does the job, but not more.

Pros:
- Great location
- Good value for money for central Helsinki

Cons:
- Not possible to borrow bikes (even if it's stated on their webpage)
- Small beds/rooms
- Not convivial or friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piloubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,404 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,070 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
637 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $121 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing