We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Like Scandic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Like Scandic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were at the Marski 6 years ago in Helsinki and this time the Simonkentta had the better pay in advance deal. Super close to the train station and a million other things in the center of town including that nice outdoor market with all sorts of food. Good breakfast if a bit of a zoo. Decent lounge, pleasant check in, clean rooms, decent TV (if a bit weird to figure out the channels), happy with this choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    637
    230
    44
    20
See reviews for
211
319
124
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in Oct 2013.
Excellent location for visiting the city, just at a walking distance from the main touristic points. There is a street market in the plaza just behind the hotel, with artisan foods from many different countries. A variety of stores and restaurants in the vicinity.
Quiet room, well equipped with lots of power outlets, an iron machine with board (very rare in European hotels), nice bathroom. Internet worked well.
Excellent breakfast buffet. Excellent taxi service, that you can arrange the night before your departure.
Courteous and well trained front desk clerks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have just had my 3rd visit. Simply love the location, which is right at the center of everything. Everything fully lives up to my expecations in the hotel. One particular thing to highlight could be the Wifi connections. I am a seasoned traveller, and I have had many negative experiences with complicated setups. Not at this hotel though, you simply connect and you may surf. No need to re-enter passwords, room number, last name or anything. Breakfast was nice, lots of variety. I will definitely love to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zuark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The room we had was quite basic, but very nice. A bit small though.
It was in the 1st floor, facing the road, but we weren't interrupted by the noise.
The hotel is in a good overall condition.
We were in the hotel's sauna and gym, which were both very nice, quiet and in a good condition.
The breakfast was REALLY great, with a very diversified menu and high quality food.
The location of it is really good, as there's a tram stop just outside the hotel's door. The central station is also just a few minutes walk, and there's a shopping mall, restaurant and bars just around the corner.
We were very satisfied with this hotel, especially considering the low price (in comparison with Helsinki...). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapelle, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

this hotel in the centre of Helsinki is quite new and has a contemporary styling. Rooms were neat and clean and I loved the Scandinavian look. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had, so much choice that I felt sorry that I could not enjoy more. Unfortunately the bar doesn't open until 5 o'clock, what is quite odd from my point of view. I thought this hotel quite expensive per night, but aren't all hotels in Helsinki priced like castles.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the road, but noise didn't hinder my night's rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollola, Finland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Even if this hotel has been in use already in 14 years it stands for good Finnish design and quality. We got the room in 6th floor with the view towards Kamppi, the House of the Parliament and we could even see the amusement park Linnanmäki. The room was bright, spacious and tidy. Extra points were given to the bathroom with many practical solutions.

The only minus was the pillow. It was like a pile of rags. It is time to change them.

The breakfast was quite good. It is better to go there early or just before the closing time. We went about 9:30 and it was very crowdy.

Location is fantastic whatever you like to do in Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel does the job, but not more.

Pros:
- Great location
- Good value for money for central Helsinki

Cons:
- Not possible to borrow bikes (even if it's stated on their webpage)
- Small beds/rooms
- Not convivial or friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piloubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#28 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing