We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scandic Simonkentta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Simonkentta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scandic Simonkentta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Functional rather than luxurious. Rooms are small but clean - cjeck in took to long. Breakfast good but we weren't able to find a decent place in the hotel for a beer and a snack - so we went to Harry's Bar just across he square which was great.

Not great value for money - but then nothing much in Finland is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    590
    218
    43
    17
See reviews for
184
299
121
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It took me quite long time to get a room which I liked because most of their rooms have double twin beds. The rooms with the queen size beds have no views and they look to two different buildings. Forget the privacy and you must keep the curtains always closed.
After long time arguing and paying extra 20 Euros per night extra, I got a room with a nice wide view to the plaza below. However, the room had very small twin beds.

The mattresses are thin... I was disappointed that the cleaning woman did not do a thorough job.
She just made the beds and left as it looked like. No bathroom cleaning and no floor sweaping etc. I stayed for 6 nights and they did not change my bed sheets although I had asked the cleaning woman couple times.

The breakfast was OK but there was an incident which was disappointing. I was trying to get a table which was just vacated. I asked the male waiter to clean up the table. He took the trays and left. I went after him and asked him again to wipe the table. He argued that the table is clean. When I talked to his supervisor, he came back, looking vicious, I thought he would punch me any second. I never saw a maniac like that in my life.

Anyhow the manager apologized and offered me free drinks.

I am sure that maniac will cause a big problem to them some day.

The personnel is overall fine but not that warm and inviting.

I will avoid to stay there as I had stayed at Radisson Blu which is a much better and higher class hotel and accordingly more expensive.

Sometimes it pays off to pay more and get the quality stay and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IANA940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is perfect, if you want to do shopping, etc.

But that was the only plus. During our weekend trip the hotel was crowded, the check-in took long time (the staff was too helpful to assist young residents with their weekend plans..) The hotel is using the old-fashioned 'matkustajakortti', and not copying the address and other details from the reservation system. And yes, that makes the check-in queueing times longer.

The room was clean and modern, but the noise insulation was poor. We could heard traffic noises and hotel guest noises... This was a disappointment, because the hotel building is quite recently built.

The bar at the lobby had manpower problems, and the breakfast was so crowded, that it felt unpleasant on Sunday morning.

Luckily we paid the room upon arrival, and could leave the hotel without queueing.

The hotel may be ideal for 20+ folks who want to party during the weekends, but others ... please consider the rate / quality ratio when you book, and I would recommend to book some other hotel for lengthier stays at Helsinki.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Location is good, close to restaurants and shopping, rooms are clean, they have a taxi stand outside and has all you need for a business trip. I have stayed here many times, always my first choice when traveling to Helsinki for work.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good strategic location!
Room is clean and neat with good housekeeping .
Front desk staff was not helpful when 2 group mates' bag was stolen at the lobby during checkin. They brushed it off with sweeping statement of O, it's very common & it's definitely not done by Finnish.
After check out, our luggages was stored in a room that do not require any form of record or tags to retrieve..
Not safe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstoheliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location is everything you need :) Building promises a lot but like always in big company - there is no big surprises in...
Hotel is quite big and popular so it can take few minutes to sign in.Staff are firmly and ok. Rooms are quiet and clean but furniture are old and seems to be used too much. Breakfast was good, food is fresh and you can wake up with a coffeecup looking the cityview.

I would say that you get modern hotel with no surprises when choosing this option. Don't pay over 160e per night without thinking desinghotels nearby...

Room Tip: Ask for a marketview! Something to see and they are quieter also
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and pleasant. Staff were quite helpful for general enquiries. Upon the first day of our group arrival, we were required to fill registration cards for the hotel. In a short while, 2 of our colleagues' bags were stolen. Passports and everything was gone. That was the act of a theft gang (couple) roaming around in the hotel lobby. Hotel need to step up on lobby security to identify suspicious persons and also prevent non-hotel guests to be roaming around in the lobby.

Nevertheless, hotel has good control over security for room access. Lift could only be activated with scanning of the room key. Hotel is connected to the shopping mall next door via basement. Hotel is situated in central location within walking distance to the Central Railway Station. One could easily acquire a transit to the airport and other cities. There are many shopping malls nearby. Also walking distance to some major attractions such as the Lutheran Church and even the Uspenski Cathedral and harbour for the Silja and Viking Terminals (if stroll is preferred over bus and tram rides).

Hotel rooms design were minimalistic and clean. We checked in twice throughout our journey. The room for my second check in was very small and cramp.

Breakfast spread was quite good with varieties. Good supply of fruits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#27 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing