We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible, central location, expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel alone for work - on my own cost, though. I chose the hotel because of the central location and because I know that Scandic hotels are accessible for a wheelchair user like me.

It was accessible. The location is a bit difficult because there's an uphill from train station to the hotel but I figured out I could go through the shopping centre Kamppi to avoid the hill. The room was spacious and nothing was placed too high for me.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. The hotel was quite expensive but the breakfast was not too varied. I would have liked more choice. I was surprised that the staff wasn't as friendly as in other Scandics.

Scandic has their own program for regular clients. The members get points for staying there and points mean benefits. I was very sorry to hear that this stay of mine didn't get me any points at all because I had made the reservation by telephone and not online. It's unequal because I can't be sure to get an accessible room. I have to make sure I will get it by calling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urhonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for the second time over the weekend with a friend. The hotel is situated practically next both to the main railway station and coach station in the city, as well as next to the tube and above a huge indoors parking lot. Lots of restaurants, sights and shopping too.
The room was clean and of good size. Beds ok, but the pilows were worn and much too thin. Practical but nothing extra. The receptionist gave a warm and professional welcome. The lounge was packed of tourists so the hotel seems to be popular. Almost too popular I'd say as the breakfast was simply chaotic. All hotel quests seemed to have breakfast at the same time. The tables lie very close to each other so you felt as if you had been in somebody else's party. There was food enough okay, but people in crowds tend to make a mess. I normally sit for a good while and enjoy my breakfast when travelling, but in Scandic Simonkentta this was out of the question.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kikami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are several Scandics in the central Helsinki and this is the most centrally located. Also the standard category rooms are here bit freshier than in other scandics in center (Scandic Paasi is an exception, but it is located a bit more off from the heart of Helsinki). However, the rooms are noticeably smaller here. Hotel staff was helpful in managing to fit family of four to standard room. Extra bed arrangement did not leave too much floor space but this was ok as we needed the room only for sleeping. We did not hear any outdoor noise.

The restaurant offers "classic Scandic" menu but this time I was surprised about the price/quality of the food. Especially as during weekends frequent guests receive -20% discount + children get 50% off. (kids even got the same amount of food than grown-ups). Breakfast is the same as in all Scandics: standard and boring but you know what you get.

If you are travelling with car, -50% parking discount during weekends is considerable as in other hotels, the parking cost may be quite high.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent location, very good service, good quality room with comfortable bed. What else you need? There is car park under the hotel and they are offering 30% discounts during week and 50% discounts on weekends. Typical finnish breakfast - a lot of choices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been at this Hotel for business reasons and I appreciated the comfort, the style and the perfect organization. Rooms are large and well furnished and the services are of good quality. Moreover the hotel is located at the very center of Helsinki very close to the train station and to the metro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fusconic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here three nights. The hotell was overall very good. The location and the helpfull staff is great! The breakfast ladies were a bit slow though. The bread tended to run out. (there was a window that wasn't fully tainted from the bathroom to the rest of the room. a bit wierd when you stay there with friends.)

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the square; really nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Ok, the location cannot be beaten in Helsinki - good reason to choose if the offer is good!

But, be prepared for smallish rooms that are getting bit outdated. No complaints on cleanliness level, breakfast, service..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,362 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#35 of 66 in Helsinki
1,639 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
1,409 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $106 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing