We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location the x factor is outside the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights late Oct.2012. The location is superb and the hotel is really nice. Unlike many other Finish hotels it's quite modern and has a good open lobby bar.
Service is fast and good but not superior, breakfast is fine but I had some problem getting food for early departure.
I could do a lot of work and hook all my devices up to free WiFi (max 5 devices).
I had a Scandic Frequent guest card that gave me vouchers for free coffee etc.
The room had a door leading to the next room which I didn't really like.
I was staying on fifth floor towards the square below far away from the elevators and heard no noice and had a good nights sleep.
I really miss some innovative services at these hotels... I often feel I'm at McDonalds Hotels. Still the Scandic Simonkentta was really nice.

The true x factor for this hotel is this weird oval shaped wood structure just outside the bar and the restaurant. It's actually a chapel and one of the most beautiful I've ever been to. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: high up, towards the square and far away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bárður Örn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great place to stay when in Helsinki, close to all places you want to visit, still quiet.
Well kept hotel with Eco profile. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast included in price. Sauna and small gym available for all guests.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank CBxGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice modern room. We even had a great view of the square below. Great location that is convenient to many sites and the harbor and shopping. Even has underground mall next door that we found out towards the end that you don't have to outside to get to shops and restaurants.
Great buffet breakfast that goes til 10am.

Only thing is they need more people on the front desk...always seem to be a line.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHNKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stay in Simonkenttä few times every year. I like the central location and simplicity of the hotel. Everything I need is in a walking distance. Staff is mostly very friendly and helpfull. I like the bar area. It is nice to enjoy a quiet drink in the evening and look at the people coming and going around the Kamppi shopping centre. Good restaurants near the hotel. Breakfast is ok, but bit crowded.

I think that it is about time to do something about the bathrooms. They are not clean enough (hair, dust, walls and floor are often dirty) and need some updating. Rooms are not cleaned as well as they were couple of years ago. Rooms are too cold. Breakfast area is not functional and the furniture there needs some updating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the railwaystation and more or less in the city centre. Shopping areas close and a couple of nice restaurants in walking distance.
Brilliant breakfast served and fast check-in and out made my stay a pleasure.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank bjarne_gallros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is in central location in Helsinki close to all attractions. Hotel is quite new and room was in good condition. Our room had issue with temperature being too hot. I complained about it was handled in professional way. Breakfast is ok for Scandinavian standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Normal high standards of the Scandic hotels apply, the hotel has all the normal features, free wifi, sauna, good clean rooms with comfy beds. Parking underneath and a super bar and restaurant. Breakfast is of course the Scandic standard selection but provides a wide range for all tastes.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank RoamingRowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,404 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
2,072 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
637 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $121 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing