We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located, not too big, clean and tidy, great restaurant offering” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Simonkentta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Conveniently located, not too big, clean and tidy, great restaurant offering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at Scandic for one night during a short business trip. I also met two customers in the lobby seating area / restaurant of the hotel. I especially liked the breakfast which was very delicious and healthy at the same time. The staff was friendly and helpful, even they had to open the door of the llugage storage room around five times just for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    708
    265
    51
    25
See reviews for
247
354
143
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We got a good deal through a website for one night and chose this hotel because it had good air conditioning - we had been staying in hotels without a/c or with a/c that didn't actually work. We are travelling in mid summer and 3 star Finland hotels feel like saunas (!) It was a relief to get a good night's sleep in Finland at last.

We were travelling by bus around Finland and this hotel is close to the underground bus station in Kamppi, which was very handy.

We had some wi fi problems and we got sick of having to constantly type in the hotel password or agree to the conditions every time we wanted to get on the net. I had to get a second username and password for my Android tablet. But don't ring reception - they are too busy to answer. This was in total contrast to the cheaper and smaller hotel we stayed at the previous night in Rauma, western Finland, where the service was quick. but the a/c didn't work.

The hotel has the attributes you would expect in its class. The room was comfortable. There were two chairs and a table, as well as a desk and chair.

One criticism is the lack of a kettle and teabags/coffee. This is the first hotel we've stayed at in three weeks that did not offer this. Instead, there is a mini-bar.

Breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Good location. Nice people. Clean enough. nothing extraordinary though good value for price. Food is continental. restaurant slightly busy but it's ok. I think many tourists stop there who travel to Tallin, so many groups come an leave. So 4 stars from five is how I feel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank probnoblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights in June, with weather that varied from hot and sunny to a downpour - the hotel was convenient for both short visits, such as the modern art museum, or longer: the tram stop to the harbour is right outside the door. The hotel rooms are very much 'Finnish design' with built in self-contained units - big enough and have all the essentials. Breakfast was good, if slightly chaotic in terms of going back and forth for food. We tried to eat dinner one night but, having been given menus, were studiously ignored by the staff for 15 minutes and so walked out and went down the road. Unfortunate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farthingstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location of this hotel is the best that you can get from Helsinki. Rooms are stylish and guite spacious. Staff is friendly. Beds are very comfortable, but there should be more pillows. This hotel is worth of money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L2TravelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is central in Helsinki, sitting right above a shopping centre. It's clean and comfortable but quite basic (no fancy toiletries and in need of a bit of room modernisation). There is free wireless in the rooms (passcode available from reception, changes every day) and a fairly decent breakfast buffet. Make sure you leave plenty of time for check out as there seemed to be a complete lack of staff in the morning. I don't think I'd recommend if youre heading to Helsinki for a romantic weekend but for one or two nights on a business trip it's not a bad option

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deefromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Check-in at 1800 on a Saturday saw a queue with only 2 staff on duty although it didn't take too long and staff were polite.

Rooms good size but lacking in storage in terms of drawers to store clothes ect. TV had very limited English channels and was not up to a business standard with no CNN or Sky. The thermostat control seemed to have little impact and room was OK for temperatures of around 20C - I doubt if it was hotter the room could be cooled further.

Restaurant had limited choices but the burger I had was excellent and freshly made.

Location is great - near bus and train stations, restaurants, centre, waterfront.

Overall good value as room rates include breakfast buffet consisting of a great selection. Breakfast gets full after 0830 but earlier was no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#30 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing