We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central eco friendly hotel, large rooms, accomodating staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nice eco friendly hotel in the center of Helsinki. That means an in-room sauna, recycling bins for everything, abrupt automated electricity power off, free Internet, but no little shampoo and moisturizer bottles... Seems like a reasonable tradeoff! The staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed by the large number of young Russians who descended on the hotel, but were accomodating and gave card access to the gym beyond regular hours. Breakfast selection was large, but quality was pedestrian. Dinner a la carte on the other hand was very good. Service at the bar in the evening slow, but well intentioned. Probably a good choice overall for families, but lacking that extra convenience business travellers tyically relish.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo2018zabivaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Simonkentta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

I quite often travel to Helsinki and have stayed in different hotels there. after staying in Scandic Simonkentta, for three years already I have mostly stayed there. The location is absolutely the best: right in the center, one of the elevators takes you to the shopping mall Kampi. The hotel is in the same street as the Main Railway station and is just a minute walk from the main street and 30 minutes to the airport by bus or taxi. Thye hotel has a restaurant, lobby bar, a small convinience shop at the reception, free sauna and gym,
the rooms are quite spacious, with hard wood floors. (I personally hate the smell of wet carpet in some of the hotels, but here it's not a concern).
The hotel only provides liquid soap, so I make sure that I have a soap bar with me.
In summer it's really packed with people and also at weekends can be rather noisy outside. Well, it is right in downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzhilina909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on business and really enjoyed my stay. The twin room was modern clean and well appointed with a good shower. The rooms also had a television, an ironing board and trouser press; but, and this is the only negative point I can think of; there were no in-room coffee/tea facilities. Breakfast was wide ranging and tasty on both mornings. The conference facilities were very good as was the lunch. Hotel is well placed in the centre of Helsinki, close to the railway and bus stations. I caught a taxi to get to and from the airport, this costing about 45Euro and about 25 minutes. I'd recommend it to you and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobnShirlnSamnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I travel a lot to Helsinki. During the last year I've been to 9 different hotels in Helsinki area, but Scandic Simonkenttä is my favourite.

Simonkenttä is located in the middle of town, very short distance to the railway station, airport buses and all the attractions and shopping areas in Helsinki.

Rooms are nice and clean, the internet connection works well. The breakfast is good but it always the same in all Scandic hotels (if you been to one you know what to expect).

Room Tip: Rooms facing Narinkka Square have a great view, but noice from the night clubs might disturb during...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed with my collage in hotel. Breakfast was very good and everything was enought, Food were warm and drinks cold. There was plenty of choice to everybody to choose what to eat. I think these were best breakfast and i ever eated in hotels. Location is in city center. You can't get more in city that this hotel is. Many shopping centers near, movie theathers and railway station also. I you need stay night near citycenter this is your choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for a weekend. The location was perfect! On arrival after 4 pm in the afternoon, we went for a drink, had dinner and then went to Kiasma to see the whole African Art. As we left Kiasma at closing time at 10 pm it was pouring down. But - with only 5 minutes to run back to the hotel that wasn't a problem! The room was nice. The only real disappointment was the breakfast. Too crowded. Still, next time in Helsingfors/Helsinki, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hotel Simonkenttä is big, modern and clean. I´ve stayed there on several occasions and on many different rooms. Service has always been really nice, friendly and polite. Rooms are nice and clean, but as this is a chain hotel you shoudn´t expect it to have much of a personal or unique touch. If you want something extra book Superior Plus room with own sauna and balcony with view over city.

Best thing about the hotel is the location. Very close to main shopping area, lots of restaurants nearby etc. I also always find this hotel quiet and calm to sleep in. Some guests have been complaining about street and night club noise but it has never bothered me.

Breakfast is usually pretty good, although sometimes crowded. Parking is available on a garage nearby. It´s pretty expensive (around 25 euros I think), but so is all parking in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#34 of 66 in Helsinki
1,556 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 66 in Helsinki
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
614 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 66 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $130 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing