We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient spot, clean and comfortable”
Review of Scandic Marski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scandic Marski
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient spot, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

In September 2009. I attended a conference in Helsinki near Scandic Grand Marina, which was too expensive for, so I chose to stay at the Scandic Marski and I didn't regret it. I stayed there 5 nights. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, it is situated in a very convenient spot in Manneheim road - 5 minutes from the train station, across the street from the Esplanade which leads to Market square. Accros the street you can find famous Stockman store and Forum mall. Nevertheless my room was very quiet. Breakfast was very good, and the price is average to this country (even cheap, compared to other hotels - 100 euro per night.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nnnggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    667
    348
    112
    39
See reviews for
323
402
137
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

About a five minute walk from the train station and from the center of town. The room was actually pretty big and clean. Breakfast was also good with a large selection. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I've stayed in Marski quite a few times, the latest two in August.

The location is perfect - just opposite to Stockmann's, walking distance almost everywhere in Helsinki. Most of the rooms were renovated in the 90's, and are now in a reasonable state - there apparently are some newly renovated rooms, but I haven't stayed in those.

The hotel is relatively clean, and the service is good, except in the restaurant, where everything seems to happen very slowly (the pub in the front of the seems ok).

They have warnings in the rooms regarding the breakfast (recommending to have the breakfast before 9am), and to my experience, you should take them seriously. The breakfast room and service is does not cope the number of customers in the late mornings - on two out of three mornings they kept running out of food, there were no free tables (or if there were, they were piled with glasses, plates and other remainders of the previous residents), and even the coffee machine did not cope with demand (just kept brewing, no coffee at all during my first breakfast). They've also cut down the selection from a couple a years ago (like berries, bacon, juice alternatives), but it still is fairly good.

The hotel has free wi-fi, and the signal has been good in the rooms I've been in. There are safes in the rooms, but they are too small for a mini-laptop.

Overall, despite the breakfast, the hotel is quite okay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aapeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Cheshire - UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed at the Scandic for a week in Helsinki and could not find a better located hotel, the staff were so helpful and friendly and could not do enough for us during the stay.

The hotel bar was a general meeting place and the staff in there were too helpful and very entertaining.

On a whole I would gladly go back there as the rooms were well kept and spotless clean. I also liked the touch of the ice machines on each floor!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplebird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

As we were catching the early train to St. Petersburg the location of this hotel was ideal; it's less than ten minutes walk (with luggage) to the station. The Scandic Marksi is a typical large, slightly old fashioned, city central hotel that has seen plenty of wear and tear. The staff is brisk and efficient and the rooms are reasonable size with small bathrooms. All very usable with the exception of the hairdryers which are of the old type that barely produce air let alone warm air. We were only there one night and while I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay it was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Very central and walkable with luggage from ferry-just. We had an updated room with all mod cons but no view , but paid only £ 75 per night via hotels.com so OK I guess. Good breakfast. Bikes available but no gears so ok for hour or two but better to hire bikes from Green bikes a walk down Boulevardi.See website. We cycled very safely and easily round the whole of central Helsinki in 6 hours- lovely Art Nouveau buildings and parks; beach tacky .Also took bikes to Suomenlina Island- go in late afternoon 5-6 to see ferrries and cruise shiips squeeze through narrow channel.Food very expensive, best meal in Aino opposite Esplanade park. `Sibelius` train to St Petersburg must be the slowest train on planet. Sounds posh but isn`t , seats comfy-they need to be for 6 hours!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashkelon israel
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

we stayed 5 nights at marski-we were there to celebrate my wife-s anniversary-the location is the best-in the middle of the town.the room was great-clean with a nice view-and all the facilities were perfect.breakfast was tasty with a lot of choices.the stuff very friendly.helsinki is a nice city-if you stay at marski you can see all the important places by foot. things to see- the cathedral-the uspenski church-the rock church-suomenlina fortress-seurasari island-kaivopusto park.a lot of good restaurants-for finnish cuisine try zetor.half a day trip to porvoo.there are also plenty of museums-ateneum-kiasma-national museum.one more important thing-everybody speaks english-so no problem to get around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#24 of 65 in Helsinki
1,540 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 65 in Helsinki
603 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
939 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,341 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Marski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski

Property: Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Helsinki hotel with nice atmosphere and great location on Helsinki's Mannerheimintie, with the shopping streets, top boutiques, main sights and businesses just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Marski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing