We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another great visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Marski
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently spent my 3rd visit this year at the Marski and again was more than happy with their hospitality. I recommend this to all European visitors to Helsinki. Excellent hygiene. Breakfasts were brilliant. The bar prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    519
    241
    76
    21
See reviews for
223
294
93
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
asserballeskov
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Typical Scandic hotel. The location is perfect for shopping, bars restaurants etc. My room was clean comfortable and well maintained. Even though I was on the street side of the hotel I could not hear any traffic. The breakfast was first class and the staff friendly and helpful.
I ate in the bistro in the evening and the food was well prepared/presented and reasonably priced for Helsinki (One of the more expensive Nordic cities)
I rounded off my evening in the bar and as I am a single malt whisky fan it was a pleasant surprise to see the large selection and to be served by someone who knew a little about the product she was serving.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveAsserballeskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It is not the first time I stayed in the Scandic Marski, and this time I stayed for 4 nights.
The hotel is in the center of Helsinki, everything is at a walking distance.
The breakfast is very good, and the bar too. The staff at the reception are very eficient and very nice.
The hotel has renovated rooms and some that are rather small and runned down.
My room was very good, good size and well decorated. The bed was very good.
The bathroom has only a shower which is suficient, however the water runs straight to the floor. As the inclination of the floor is not enough, the water spreads all over the bathroom floor. It dries out rather quickly but is not nice.
The bathroom floor is heated but has no regulation, so the batroom is rather hot. In the morning it feels like a sauna.
Anyway, the hotel is a good value for the price your are asked for, I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. The staff were friendly and the breakfast were really good.

The rooms on the other hand are in a real need of an update. If the were to redecorate the rooms like other, newer Scandic hotels, this would be one of the best choices of hotels to stay in when visiting Helsinki.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenah Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Scandic Marski is located near the social heart of Helsinki. Not far from the train station or the docks and close to the main shopping areas it is a great hotel to base you visit to Helsinki.

The rooms are quite variable so I would suggest that you ask for a room with a view of the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location, location, location... the Scandic Marski Hotel is right in the best comercial area of Helsinki, right in front of Stockman department store and within walking distance to most of Helsinki main attractions. Breakfast is excellent, the restaurant is superb. Rooms are spacious with classic scandinavian modern décor. Very helpful staff. I would really stay there again.

Room Tip: To reach the rooms with sauna you have to take the lift to the 3rd floor, walk a long corridor and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoHermanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice rooms, and if heading to Mannerheimintie, the wiew is nice. And especially at Vappu time (1st of May, and day before). We had room in 5th floor and no noise from the street.
Breakfast is standard Scandinavian, good.

Room Tip: I would take on the street side if you stay in samoe 4th floor higher, as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suomi-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#24 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#31 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Marski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski

Property: Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Helsinki hotel with nice atmosphere and great location on Helsinki's Mannerheimintie, with the shopping streets, top boutiques, main sights and businesses just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Marski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing