We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location in Helsinki - standard experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Marski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Marski
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Helsinki - standard experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at Scandic Marski many times whilst travelling in business. As Scandic hotels always, this is a proper, well-funtioning hotel chain. Not personal or luxurious; but safe, environmentally friendlier than maybe other - and the breakfast is ok, but not if you´re seeking whopping culinary experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesa_Paldanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    604
    310
    95
    30
See reviews for
272
351
117
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

For someone who travel to Helsinki for a weekend or for a business trip it’s a very good choice. Super central hotel, close to everything, with modern design and a great restaurant also. The only (-) is the rooms. Rooms must be renovated, they look very old even they are clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasileios F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Firstly, I was able to get a 50% discount code online by searching for "Scandic discount codes".
Very easy and makes the stay more affordable. Use the hotel website with the code.
The location cannot be better. That is worth so much when traveling. The service was excellent.
The breakfast was a complete spread. Anything you could think of was available in the buffet. It is always nice to eat local breakfast with many choices to try.
The rooms were not the best. Also, our room was in another building which required a long walk via a connecting walkway. The elevator to our room was old fashioned euro style in the middle of a grand stairwell. If someone forgets to close the elevator gate then the elevator will not work and you will have to use the stairs.
Other than those small gripes the hotel was spot on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pros:

- Excellent location, right in Helsinki's main street, very close to the Central Railway Station;
- Friendly staff;
- Very good breakfast, with lots of things to choose from;
- I didn't try the sauna, but I can bet it's pretty good.

Cons:

- The entire hotel radiates old-fashion. The bathrooms in particular will actually take you back in time. It will feel like you've just travelled 50+ years into the past. The hairdrier looks like something out of a Fellini movie. The bathtub is clean but looks old. There is no glass on it, but a curtain. The rest of the room, although spacious enough, also looks old-fashioned. That isn't a bad thing per se, but we were expecting something different;
- The TV was a CRT (I think I haven't seen a CRT anywhere for more than 5 years), which had lousy image and sound quality. There were many channels to choose from, though.

Verdict: Recommended. Just be prepared to take a trip down memory lane when you see the television sets, the hairdrier, the furniture, the bed, etc. However, the lobby looks modern, and so does the restaurant where you have breakfast. It feels like it's an ever changing hotel and the future hasn't reached the rooms yet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

On my recent trip I stayed at the Marski twice at the outset and end of the trip. I have stayed there several times over the years and love the location. It is a short walk to all forms of mass transportion including the Finnair airport bus at the train station which runs every 20 minutes at a very low cost of 6.30E. You are in the heart city close to theaters, concert venues, shopping, the waterfront, restaurants, bars and nightlife. The rooms are a bit dated and could use an upgrade, but are clean and comfortable.

What I appreciate the most is the customer service. I initially had an issue with one of my reservations before I arrived which was my own fault, but management was able to gracefully accomodate me. Then on my last stay the wi-fi in my room was not accessible upon check in, but reception moved me right away into a room where it was working after I informed them.

Finally it is great to sit outside with a cold beer next to bar area during the summer and watch the world go by you in this cosmopolitan city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyt962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A nice hotel in the heart of the city Helsinki. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the room was clean. We stayed in a two-bed room for only one night, and we have nothing negative to say about the hotel nor anything else. The location couldn't been better, it was close to everything but there were very quiet in the room and we slept well. The breakfast buffet was good and tasty. The price wasn't that bad, about 100€ per room. I would choose that accommodation again! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

After the nightmare at Sokos Vantaa, booked this hotel. Central Helsinki location. Close to all the attractions and Helsinki offerings. Booked a superior double room which was very nice. Room was very clean with good amenities. Staff very friendly, restaurant and breakfast very good. Had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#22 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Marski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski

Property: Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Helsinki hotel with nice atmosphere and great location on Helsinki's Mannerheimintie, with the shopping streets, top boutiques, main sights and businesses just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Marski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing