We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in an expensive city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Marski
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good value in an expensive city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for just about anything, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 6th floor was like an oven (and this was in May so we can only imagine what it would be like in August!). Fortunately there was a room available on the 4th floor in which the airconditioning worked. The room was quite large and comfortable and located away from the street so it was nice and quiet. We stayed there a week, our second stay in 2 years and were pleased to see that some of the problems that existed earlier e.g. poor internet service have been corrected. Also, it seems that the people working at reception are more knowledgeable than were those we encountered a couple of years ago. The breakfast was quite good but after 7 mornings we were getting a bit tired of the same thing day after day. A wee bit of variety in the offerings from day to day would be nice. All in all, this is a very comfortable hotel that is ideally situated.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor unless you enjoy sleeping in an oven!! We were told that someone had been in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    490
    228
    68
    16
See reviews for
203
275
83
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in this place with my collegues last weekend for one night. Hotel have great location right in center of Helsinki almost opposite Stockmann store, in 5 min. of walk from central railroad station. All the attractions, stores, bars, restaurants within walking distance.
This is very big and modern hotel, have a several buildings and any kinds rooms. We got 5 standart rooms on different floors but in the same building. The rooms were very big and comfortable, everything is new and clean inside. In addition to the standard set of furniture like beds, table, cabinet e t.c. we had armchairs, little journal table and iron with ironing board in the rooms what was very nice and give a plus.
Bathroom is also was nice, spacious and have shower with bath inside. In my room had a toilet together with bath in one room but i saw they have a rooms where it's separated.
It was about pluses.
Unfortunately our good impressions from the rooms were spoiled service of this hotel. We came very early on the morning train, around 10.00. We knew check-in in 14.00 therefore we put our baggage in luggage room, got the breakfast and left to walk. To our surprise we could get check in only in 17.00 after 2-3 unsuccessful attempts and only after disturbance. They explained it like maid is only one and she have not time to clean all the rooms. Only one maid for such a big hotel??? Very strange...About reception. It is very little, just 2-3 persons on the place, a lot of people in the hotel and they have not time to serve everybody, people need to wait long time. If you have a lot of questions like we are and you don't understand something, they staying rude. I think is bad idea for 4 stars hotel, Scandic system in center of Helsinki and high price. I was living in hostel and got better service than here...
Just only one appologies we got, they gave to us several tickets for free coctails in hotel's bar. Personally me didn't got it though i got more rude from service than my collegues.
About breakfast. When we just came we are decided to take it in the hotel and we are paid 17 euro per person. It was pretty diverse but nothing special therefore i think 17 euro is overcharge, you can get the same for 10 euro in another place.
In my opinion and the opinion of my colleagues, we were very disappointed, we were waiting better service for money what we have paid. I'm sure my next time in Helsinki i will choise another hotel and im sure it will be not worse exactly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location! Comfortable bed. Good service. Excellent breakfast! Could have been a little more clean for my liking. The toilet smelled very bad.

Walking distance to lots of shopping, great restaurants and the market. The gardens nearby were in full bloom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebdoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A beautiful, friendly and comfortable hotel in the center of Helsinki. Easy walking distance to the train station, the market and the waterfront. Restaurants and shop are in every direction. I would definitely return here on my next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

One nice hotel with the best location, Scotmaan is right opposite, all the best facilities and value for money. If only menu options in restaurant were more . Overall a real pleasant stay. Staff is very friendly and English is known, you can rent bicycle or call a taxi . Recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meetume2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Decent enough hotel on a main busy street in the city centre. Reasonably near to Stockmann department store and the railway station. A bit more of a walk to the harbour area but Helsinki is a compact city so a leisurely stroll will soon get you to most central places from here.

Staff pleasant enough and food more than adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the Scandic Marski, only because my regular choice in Helsinki, the Scandic Simonkentta was sold out. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to the central station, buses and trams. The usual Scandic amenities are available - good breakfast, high speed wireless Internet and restaurant/bar.

The rooms are a bit old and worn out (seems to be a common Scandic problem) and need renewal. I was alotted a room facing the main road and the traffic noise during the day & night was terrible. The gymnasium is also very small and gets cramped if four or more people decide to exercise at the same time.

Generally a suitable choice for business travellers.

Room Tip: Request for a room away from the main road as the traffic noise is unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AashishSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#33 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Marski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski

Property: Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00101, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Helsinki hotel with nice atmosphere and great location on Helsinki's Mannerheimintie, with the shopping streets, top boutiques, main sights and businesses just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Marski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing