We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveler rating
370
713
412
135
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
713
412
135
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationstockmann department storecentral locationtrain stationmini bardecent hotelbreakfast buffetthe heart of the citybusiness tripsaunamannerheimintieesplanadeforumbathtubhairdryerharboureuro
Filter
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its like any other scadic hotel... good :-)

Service - Ok....nothing special to talk about
Value - Ok....standard scandic rates and standard services
Sleep Quality - Good...Dont pick a road facing room....lot of noise due to traffic
Cleanliness - This wasn't good... was bit disappointed as against my previous experiences with scadic
Location - Its excellent....you have lot of things to do nearby
Room - Ok....bit small compared to Espoo hotel....but good

Room Tip: Dont pick a road facing room....lot of noise due to traffic
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashantdohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

On May 2, 2013 was my fourth time in “Scandic Marski” hotel in Helsinki, Finland since December 2011. Everything was excellent as usual. Nothing has been changed or worsened. Why I like it? I’m going to repeat it again.
First of all, it takes only five minutes to get the Railway Station from the hotel by walk. There you can take the trains to any other town of Finland or to Saint Petersburg and Moscow, Russia. It takes only three hours and fifty minutes to travel to Saint Petersburg, Russia by “Allegro” train. Big hypermarkets such as the “Stockman”, “Forum” and “Sokos” are situated either in front of the hotel on the other side of Mannerheim Avenue or in the next door building. The National Museum of Finland and Ferry Boat terminal are situated in the ten minutes walking distance. Taking that ferry boat you can get the Suomenlinna (Sveaborg) fortress with its museums. It will take about eighteen minutes walk to get the Military Museum at the intersection of Maurinkatu and Liisankatu Streets.
This time we got the triple room instead of twin one. It was pretty big anl all the beds were very comfortable. There were the TV set, refrigerator with mini bar, central heating and air conditioner in the room. Such useful things as the ironing machine and iron were also found in the room. Bath room was big enough and was equipped with the comfortable bathtub. Hairdryer is available in the bathroom too. Everything was quite new and clean.
Free Wi Fi is available in the Hotel and free internet connection via the desk top is available downstairs at the ground or zero floor. Parking although with the limited space but still available.
Food in the restaurant was good and plentiful. Amazingly but it is a matter of fact there were several hundreds people in the restaurant during the breakfast time but there were neither crowds nor long queues and free places at the tables were available. I believe “Marski” should be proud with its restaurant and breakfasts.
Hotel provides you the opportunities to attend free sauna and gym. All personnel were very helpful and spoke fluent English. So, everything is like during the old good times!
I’m sure I’ll stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my first stay at the Scandic Marski. The location, as others have stated, is absolutely outstanding and it is hard to beat for shopping or getting to several of Helsinki's most popular spots. The view from room, which faced the front of the hotel and Mannerheim Street was very good. The room looked straight down the Esplanard toward the Sea. The room I had was on the 7th floor, and I could not see the harbour, but the room did offer a long range view toward the South Harbour. It was one of the best views I have had in my numerous trips to Helsinki

The Front desk service was also outstanding. Check in and check out was very fast and any requests, was handled extremely quickly.

The room was bit small but comfortable. The carpeting in this room was old and showing some wear. Yet the room was well furnished with two chairs, an ottoman, and queens size bed. Very good work space, which was easy to work at, as there were 4 electric plugs and good lighting. The windows are large and I could open the small wooden air vents or ports to get in air from the outside.

There were some issues, all minor, but depending on taste one should be aware of them. First, the hotel has a night club and there is another night club next door. Even with the air ports closed and locked, there was a lot of noise that came into the room on Friday and Saturday nights. If you like and enjoy night life it is a plus, because of the location of the hotel to the night clubs, if you want to sleep, it does get rather noisy in about 3:00 AM. The second issue, is the dust that comes in the window in the Spring. Because Finland spreads small pebbles for safety on sidewalks and streets in the winter and collects them in the early spring, there is a reasonable amount of dust left behind. When I opened the ports to get air, the dust came in with it. Everything in the room was dusty from the street.

Finally, house cleaning was not always dependable. The Second day they did not clean the room at all and I ask the house keeper each day to make sure I was on the list. When she cleaned she did a good job and I was pleased with the cleanliness of the room.

I did not eat at the hotel, other than breakfast, which was a nice full Scandinavian breakfast. They tend to run out of certain items at times, but usually refilled them. The breakfast area is spacious and except under the stairs, is well lit.

The only other item of note was the lifts are quite small. They are fast, so you normally do not have to wait long, but at certain times they will get filled with guest bringing luggage or groups of 4 people fill the lift. So when it is busy the wait for a lift is a bit long.

On the whole I liked the hotel, was very pleased with the front desk service. I was also pleased with the room, very happy with the location, and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: My recommendation is ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathurst-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Scandic Hotel Marski for a second time and were happy with our visit, again. The hotel has an excellent location, good parking facilities and very friendly and smiling staff!

The breakfast buffet had a lot to offer and they did continue bringing fillings until it was 11 am and the time to close the breakfast buffet. This was a big plus. The ladies cleaning the tables were very good humoured, too, like all of the hotel staff.

The room was spacious, the beds comfy. Some of the furniture and the bath room fixtures looked perhaps a little shabby but this didn't bother us since the room was well cleaned. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and slept like babies - but we have also overnighted in a room on the 2nd floor just above the busy Mannerheimintie Street on a Staurday night - and could not hear anything disturbing from the outside the room. So I guess it doesn't matter where your room is located in the building.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Central location - business trip so really didn't get to explore - but room fine - clean, spacious, good wifi and comfy bed. Asked for top floor as though it might be noisy but slept well.
Breakfast good and wide choice.

Ate in the bar 1st night as arrived late - good friendly service and burger was good value for Finland at around £15.

Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srp973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews