We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central but convenient for the conference centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Marski

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Marski
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
343 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Central but convenient for the conference centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good sized room; comfortable bed. Free wifi. Good breakfast buffet. Helpful staff. Difficult to find fault with this place.

Good location at one end of the esplanade.

Easy access to the new conference centre (Messeskus). It takes five minutes to walk to central station, then 5 minutes on one of the frequent commuter trains, and another 5 minute walk from there. There is a tram stop near the hotel. That takes about 20 minutes, so there's no difference.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    504
    235
    73
    18
See reviews for
218
284
90
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in this central Helsinki hotel for the Flow Festival 2012. It was situated near the central train station and near the Finnair Airport Bus drop off site. The breakfast spread was pretty big and included both warm (eggs etc) and cold items (fresh yogurt). Getting to the rooms was a bit different, as there are two sections of the hotel, we were in the second section. We had to take the elevator in the lobby to the 3rd floor. Then walk along a walkway to the latter part of the hotel. Not a big deal though. Bottom line is that the hotel is central to all of Helsinki and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsucesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is situated at a prime location in city where almost everything for a tourist is within walking distance! I stayed here only for a day to catch an early morning flight.

Interior and overall hotel is ageing out and needs a makeover...!

But great location, very helping staff and spacious rooms. Has Free wi-fi and good speed too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saurav_joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I chose Marski for it's central location - the hotel itself is fine, we stayed in a superior room which was spacious and stylish, with a nice big bathroom. The drains smelled slightly which was a shame and the room was hot so had to have the windows open but as the room was not facing the main road it was not noisy at all.

The breakfast needs to be mentioned though - what a palaver. The food was ok but having to fight other guests to get anywhere near it was stressful and was not a nice experience. The front desk service was always friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiikeri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a good central hotel with a nice bar and restaurant. We had some drinks in the bar but did not eat. Breakfast was huge, something for everyone if i dare say.
Will be staying at this hotel again this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel has a good location and a very good breakfast. It is in the middle of town and you can walk everywhere. The room was spacious and practical, but since I stayed in a building connected to the main hotel by a bridge it was a distance to walk to my room. The staff seemed a little stressed, so I was not impressed with their attitude when the keys to my room did not work and I had to walk back with my luggage and get new ones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingveig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is older and rooms reflect this they are a little dated but a good size and have all the facilities you need. The location is excellent and the breakfast has a wide selection available. The only downer for us was we were on the 2nd floor and on one of the 2 nights we stayed the night club opposite was open till 4am and noise could be heard. If I was staying longer I would have requested a room change. I would stay at this hotel again as the location, & breakfast were great and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#12 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#33 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Marski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski

Property: Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Helsinki hotel with nice atmosphere and great location on Helsinki's Mannerheimintie, with the shopping streets, top boutiques, main sights and businesses just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Marski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing