We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my favorite, but” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Still my favorite, but”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

This hotel is still my favorite one in Helsinki. It has been beautifully renovated, has a nice gym, extremely nice sauna w. pool and private beach in the summer, is located in beautiful surroundings and has in my mind very competent staff (although they tend to be a little snobby). The rooms in the seaside wing are the best. The ones in the main building with a balcony are nice as well. The problem with the rooms in the main building is the air-conditioning. As a previous poster said you cannot turn it off and although there is a thermostat it doesn't seem to work at all. So you need earplugs if you want to have a good nights sleep: the a/c is that powerful.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R.Müller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    414
    100
    22
    7
See reviews for
179
283
79
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

Hello,

I have stayed in several hotels in Helsinki. And this was the worst one! I paid a high prize: 275 EUR. And it was defenitely not worth!

The rooms are ok. But the air condition was not working. I claimed for another room but they were not giving anything to me. They even lied telling me after 1 or two hours it will work. It wasn´t. Only after complaining several times! they send me a ventilator. And I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member! Asking for the availability of an executive lounge ended in a laughter by the desk clerks. That is not the right behaviour.

Another stay I was there and it was not possible to switch off or change the air condition. And because of that I was returning with a cold!

The room service food is exteremely expensive and the quality is not worth!

And the service personnel at the desk was not very friendly!

The location is nice (at the seaside) but for business trips not very practical. You have to get a taxi to get somwhere. There are also no supermakets, shops,... nearby. Nothing

Avoid this hotel when You a booking a normal room. The room in the seaside wing are quite beautiful and there I did not have problems with the air condition. BUt avoid staying in a normal room.

Overall for me it is a three star hotel and much overrated,

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Honi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

Have stayed in several hotels in Helsinki. This is our favorite if you don't have to stay in downtown. Stayed here 2 nights in early April. We were very pleased to recently renovated modern rooms, bathroom was big enough. Location is excellent if you want do walks along Helsinki seashore. However city centre can be reached easily by tram (20 mins) or taxi (10-15 mins). Will definetely come back here.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mursu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

Stayed in the Kalastajotorppa earlier this year & was very impressed by the quality & decor of the Hotel, particularly the bedrooms & the bathrooms, which were very modern and extremely comfortable.

Only two minor concerns: The Hotel seems to be in the middle of nowhere (although the surroundings are beautiful) and is quite far from the city centre. Also, getting served at the bar in the lobby sometimes takes ages at peak periods.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2004

The Finnish habit is to combine beach life and swimming with their unique invention - the sauna. In that way you can enjoy beach life all the year even below freezing point. You may stay at the indoor pool alternatively.- Although the name means Fisherman's hut, which it was originally, presidents have stayed there in the emantime. It is fine to relax and enjoy the water and the landscape, when you know the center is only 10 min by cor or 15 by tram. -Excellent service, comfortable beds. Trythe restaurant during July/August at the time of the Finnish Crayfish Parties - Best choice if you do not need to stay downtown.

Helpful?
9 Thank freekicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Property: Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Address: Kalastajatorpantie 1, Helsinki 00330, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing