We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was in Helsinki for a business trip in early September and had the pleasure of staying at this Hilton. I had a room in the Seaside Wing overlooking the beach. The hotel is very clean with nice spacious modern rooms. Internet access was stable and quick. I had Reindeer Steak at the restaurant and it was delicious. Service was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The location is great, I was able to walk a few minutes to the 4T tram and take a ride into downtown for just 2.80 Euros. The beach is wonderful, very clean and serene. The hotel also has a number of bicycles available for guests to use (although I did not personally use one). It was my first time in Helsinki and I really enjoyed it, the Hilton was a big part of making this trip wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ahsanali0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    430
    104
    24
    7
See reviews for
188
300
82
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel per say is good or above average... The staff are very courteous and pleasant. Breakfast buffet is good, but repetitive... Can work on having a menu which rotates....
Rooms are clean , well kept and maintained. The equipments provided work fine and are easy and good to use.. I stayed at the 7th floor in a room facing the sea (persay) ... At best I was able to see was some water between the heavy woods... If you like trees and nature you did love it... But if its sea you looking for then its a deal breaker... Rooms do have balcony, which is a plus, if you want to enjoy a quiet evening tea over a book or interesting conversation... The property is set between a residential locality and hence quiet... P.S. Indoneasians its close to your ambassador's house or official residence. I am yet to try out the fitness and swimming pool.. probably will update later...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh_Nambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I took my wife with me on a business trip to Helsinki. I had visited previously but it was her first stay. The Hilton was the perfect choice! The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and the property itself an the view were fantastic. We had access to the lounge and the selection and staff were great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WW1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Helsinki, we treated ourselves to a night at a hotel. We love the surroundings of the Kalastajantorppa hotel - you get a taste of the beautiful Finnish nature and seaside while the heart of the city is just a 10-minute tram ride away.

The hotel has a nice sauna and access to a private beach. There's an indoor pool, too. We made use of the excellent bicycles which you can use free of charge. We rented standup paddleboards at the beach hut, only to find out that the hotel also has SUP boards at the guests' disposal. It would have been great if the front desk staff had told us this when checking in.

The only minor negative point is that the hotel charges you for wifi in rooms. Why allow free wifi only at reception? It's just plain annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room for a magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a place! The Hilton Kalastajatorppa is built on rocks overlooking the Gulf of Finland. I was there in late Winter & the Gulf was frozen over but you can still stroll around the shores in a very "up market" part of the city. Getting there was a taxi ride from the airport, which means getting your tonge around the location! But the taxi driver knew exactly what I meant. There is a tram terminus right behind the hotel with a frequent service taking some 10 minutes to the centre of the city so it's well worth staying out here with excellent bviews and peace and quiet even if you plan sightseeing or enjoying the restaurants in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor: the views are really something!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent hotel, clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast, and a good restaurant for lunch and/or dinner. What more could you ask for ? Well..... one thing maybe and that is a room with a view in the new wing. Absolutely stunning view of the lake/sea makes for lovely scenary.

Easy access to downtown Helsinki (10 minutes by car) or with the nearby tram if you feel adventurous.

Room Tip: room with a sea view definitely worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for a few nights after our stay in Lapland and used as a base for exploring Helsinki. The hotel is located about ten minutes by tram from the city centre in a lovely setting on the waterfront, where you can see various wildlife including ducks, geese, rabbits, red squirrels etc. There's a great cafe next to the hotel on the beach front called Cafe Torpanranta.
The staff were friendly and efficient although they gave us a 4 a.m. wakeup call on the wrong day, which was an understandable mistake. They offered a complimentary drink by way of apology, which was a nice gesture.
The room was basic but clean and met all our requirements.
All in all, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondeeflugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
565 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
414 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Property: Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Address: Kalastajatorpantie 1, Helsinki 00330, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing