We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school Finnish charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Kalastajatorppa oozes old Finnish charm. The hotel is clearly proud of its heritage, now part of the Hilton chain but that does not get in the way of the feel of the place. The hotel has been tastefully updated. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, which obviously helped the overall experience. The room looked over the other wing of the hotel straight into a bay on the Baltic. Absolutely stunning view!
We also sampled the saunas available for the hotel guests, which again were very old school Finnish in a positive way.
Breakfast is nicely organised with almost cafe feel to it. Selection and service were both excellent.
If you want walking distance to Helsinki centre, Kalastajatorppa is not for you, but a tram that will take you downtown is only 3 minutes walk from the main entrance. There are also some decent restaurants around if you know where to look. Ask the hotel for directions to e.g. restaurant Solna.
Overall and excellent experience and come summer definitely the place to stay in Helsinki. As long as you are not set on having to stay downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments!

We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our suites. The location is indeed good, by the sea and surrounded by nature, but still close to the city center.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you have the oportunity to come back again soon!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I travel a great deal around the world and staying at the Hilton Kalastajatorppa was one of the most memorable stays I have ever had. Buffet breakfast was to die for; staff was extremely courteous; the room was comfortable and luxurious at a modest rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fellowtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

It was such a pleasure to read your feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you especially for your comments about our staff, who are there to help you and make you feel comfortable, so it is very motivating to read your comments.

Thank you for chosing our hotel and we hope you will back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Is really a dream place for to spend holiday time, even staying only 1 full day at hotel resort make you feel like 1 week vacation. Fresh air, magic view from Seaside Wing suite. At the front desk all additional bath facilities are available. Enjoying sauna, swimming pool with admiring goosed, birds and also balloons. Really good bathroom and facilities are very good quality- i want the same shampoo to use at my house. Delicious dinner at restaurant (soft venison meat), sweet sleep on king size bed inside of 5 comfortable pillows with complet silence. For me always pillow is important and here is excellent! Breakfast is 2nd best I have ever tried in hotels of this level. Were a lot of guests but staff serve also at bar which is near and it is the same comfortable. Dark bread, Brie cheese, salmon, fruits and all - good breakfast.
For to improve: Internet connection better if every time don't need put login and password, is really not comfortable. Windows on 2-4 floors not possible to open (due to safety), so I you need air need choose 1st floor or standard rooms without view but with own balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments here in TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! It's a pity you could not stay longer but we are pleased you had time to try our several of the services on offer. We appreciate all you positive comments about the room and the food as well as your feedback about the internet.

Thank you for chosing our hotel for your stay and we hope you will be back soon to try our summer activities!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stunning location across towards Helsinki centre and surrounding islands. The sight of a frozen sea and snow on the beach only added to the atmosphere. A very friendly hotel in a quiet location made a comfortable stay. Lovely buffet breakfast in a relaxed environment.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

We are thrilled to hear your had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel. The views are beautiful indeed in winter and just as much so now in summer, so we hope you have a chance to come back to see how it has changed. Thank you also for your positive feedback about breakfast.

We are glad you chose our hotel for your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for one night on business. The trip was arranged on short notice, so I didn't have much time to consider options.

This hotel was actually on the wrong side of Helsinki relative to my business purpose, but that was not really an issue since I had a rented car, and the rate was cheaper than other hotels closer to the airport anyway

I was really surprised by the nature of this property. Although it's not far from central Helsinki, I almost felt that I was in the countryside. And the building itself is very quaint - not a big giant slab as some of the big urban hotels, and especially Hiltons, seem to be.

To that point, if you are looking for urban excitement and night life, then this is probably not the place for your stay.

Sleep quality was excellent - I had the feeling that the hotel was completely empty, although it was not at all.

And the buffet breakfast was excellent. Not a huge selection, but high quality items.

I would (and likely will) gladly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feeback here on TripAdvsior!

Despite the distance to your work location we are glad to hear that our hotel provided a pleasant stay for you. We are indeed fortunate to be located by the sea, surrounded by nature but sill close to the city. Our beds have recently been renewed to ensure our guests will have a good nights sleep so I am pleased to hear this was your experience. Thank you also for your comments about breakfast.

Thank you for your stay with us and we will gladly welcome you back another time!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed here many times partly due to its close proximity to the office but also because it's a quiet hotel. It's close to a tram stop so it's not difficult to get downtown. There's a grocery store about a 10 minute walk from the hotel for any provisions you might require. It's close to the water and if you get a seaside room, you're in for a nice view. I wish the wifi in the room wasn't so pricey but the connection is solid and there's no lag. Breakfast buffet is nice with a wide variety of food. It is located in a residential area so it's very quiet with no traffic noise if you're sensitive to that. Overall, a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaside room if you can. Make sure your room rate includes breakfast. If it doesn'...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoki1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

Great to hear that you have enjoyed several stays with us. The location is indeed perfect if you wish to be close to nature and away from traffic. We appreciate your comments about the breakfast, it is an important meal in the day and we aim to provide something for everyone.

Thank you for your repeat business with us, we hope you will be back soon!

Best regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very nice Hilton property. Make sure you get the water view rooms across the parking lot. The room was spacious, clean and modern with all expected amenities. What an amazing view out the window. I took 10 minutes to walk out on the ice. Don't miss breakfast it was very well done compared to a normal Hilton breakfast. Cabs are always out front waiting but we walked most days to the office. This was a beautiful property I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for water view rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8092E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are very pleased indeed to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Great to hear that you enjoyed the room at our Seaside wing, the view really is beautiful both in wonter and in summer. Glad to hear the Hilton breakfast offered a good start to your day as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back again soon!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
677 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
1,750 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 64 in Helsinki
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Address: Kalastajatorpantie 1, Helsinki 00330, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $120 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing