We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fabian(Helsinki)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$196
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Helka(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Paasi(Helsinki)
$209
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anna Hotel(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveler rating
582
462
124
26
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
462
124
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside wingprivate beachsea viewcity centreopen air museummain buildingminute tram ridegreat hotelbaltic seaquiet locationswimming pool and saunabusiness tripnumber tramclose to the hotelbreakfast buffet ispublic transportseurasaari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a great time here, last summer. Our room was large, with a balcony. Breakfast was available from 7 and included some lovely national dishes as well as the usual international stuff. We only ate dinner at the hotel once and it was faultless. My husband was brave enough to have reindeer and really enjoyed it (it was the 'healthy' option). We enjoyed walking through the tunnel under the hotel each evening, to reach the lake.

We stayed for a week, wanting to try a new city and something different. Helsinki was a great choice. We loved Helskinki, although we would have probably struggled to entertain ourselves for a week in the city centre. However, staying out in the Hilton Kalastajatorppa (about 20 mins by tram) gave us other options, such as exploring the locality and using the hotel's rowing boat to go out on the lake, which was great fun. We really enjoyed using the hotel's huge sauna and then running outside for a dip in the lake with the geese! a bit rough and ready but very pleasant. We loved the outdoor museum near the hotel, which was free to walk around and had a lovely, quiet cafe in the middle.

The hotel was great, but as Finland is an expensive country for a Brit to visit, it's difficult to rate its value as excellent: definitely 'very good', however.

I would recommend the hotel to anybody looking to discover Helsinki and wanting to enjoy some of the natural Finnish countryside as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice room with part view of the sea. Easy to get into the centre by tram with the stop a 5 minutes walk away. Good breakfast.

Could have done with some tourist information in the room together with a "what's going on" newspaper. Unable to turn off air conditioning, however maintenance staff helped direct the air flow away from the bed. Their service was very prompt.

Do European travellers really want an ice machine on each hotel floor? A bottle of water in each room would be much better.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a King guest room plus and had a part sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay!

Great to hear you liked the room you were staying in and that the location was convenient for you. Thank you also for your comments about our maintenance, I am happy to hear that their service to you was completed in a timely fashion.

We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the beginning of June. Location is very quiet and far away from the central city -for us it was a perfect choise, because of some party nearby. Some booking sites says it is a 5 star hotel, but it is not. It is a good 4 star hotel. No piccolo service available without asking.

We had to change the first room on the 8th on to the 7th floor because even it was a non-smoking room it was stinky. I don't know whether it was an old smoking room or if the previous guest didn't mind... The 7th floor is actually the 2nd floor in the main building; they start counting from the first floor in the sea wing, so actually the street level where the reception is, already is the 6th floor :)

Room was spacious with wooden floor, free Wifi and a flat screen tv. Beds were just fine, at least hardness was good for my back. Bathroom was newly renovated I suppose, but something went wrong because water was flooding on the bathroom floor after showering in the shower cabin. They should place a sweeper in the bathroom to dry the floor! Bathroom was also very hot and temperature was not adjustable.

Breakfast was not included but excellent, though expensive. We also had dinner in the restaurant and got some excellent food. Some people have written it is very expensive, but comparing the quality, taste and friendly service I consider it as a good experience.

All in all I can recommend Kalastajatorppa if you don't mind the distance from the city. I have been there sveral times and still going back! Instead of busy city life enjoy beautiful nature, sea and good jogging possibilities. Also the famous Seurasaari is within a walking distance and well worth of visiting! Take children with you to feed domestic squirrels!

Room Tip: Ask room in the main building if you want a balkony, sea wing if you want a stunning sea wiev
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to hear that you have stayed with us before and feel also wish to come back. Thank you for pointing out the five stars that some booking sites mention, we are in fact a four star hotel and unfortunately some sites take it upon themselves to have their own star rating for hotels. We also appreciate your comments about the bathroom and your suggestion about a sweeper, yours feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast at our hotel, we do offer rates both inclusive and exclusive of breakfast in order to cater for everyone's needs.

The location of the hotel is indeed great if you wish to enjoy your stay close to nature in more quiet surroundings by the sea.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in April. Had a one bed suite which was spacious with two great bathrooms (as we've come to expect from Hiltons). It's definitely a business hotel, so a touch impersonal but we loved the quiet location next to water. It's only a short walk to the tram that takes you straight into the city. Breakfast was excellent with great variety, and dinner was really good too - focussing on local cuisine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoPomsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments here on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure to hear you had a successful stay with us during your trip to Helsinki. We are glad that the room and location was to your statisfaction and that you had an opportunity to try some local specialities in the restaurant. We are indeed fortunate to be so close by the water, giving it a serene atmosphere to relac in.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will consider our hotel for another stay when in Helsinki!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a hotel that is situated in a very nice area in Helsinki the views especial from the sea wing are stunning both for business and leisure this is a good choice

Room Tip: Rooms in the Sea Wing are absolute the best
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews