We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Central Access” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Wellington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Central Access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The best aspect of staying at this hotel for four nughts was the central access to the railway and bus stations. The room I had was average but clean. The breakfast offered a fantastic choice for all tastes. I made a mistake when booking and ended up with tourist room that meant a shared toilet down the corridor and a shared shower on the floor below me. So it is not possible for me to comment on what a normal room would be like. I tried to upgrade on arrival but was told this is your room. It was my fault and I managed. I would bypass this one on my next trip to Helsinki

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear that you were satisfied even though we weren´t able to upgrade you. Next time you should try to get a comfort room or our brand new art deco room. Welcome again to stay with us!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    343
    297
    114
    39
See reviews for
136
209
165
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Average hotel. Very helpful staff at reception. Old décor. Very hot. Not very clean hotel but clean towels and sheets. Good room size. Central location very good for trains and bus to airport. Convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. As we are a very old hotel it is true that our premises are not modern, but nice to hear you agreed that our staff is very friendly as it should be. In Finland we don´t have ari conditioning especially in old buildings as we have this kind of heat once in 15 years :-) In our new rooms in 9th floor we have air conditioning.
We warmly welcome you to stay with us again.
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Three of us stayed there two nights. Comfortable room, clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast was very busy with several coach loads also staying in the hotel, but there was enough and good food. Parking in local underground car park, bit expensive, but we knew that in advance. Hotel has terrific arrangement that you pay for the parking at the hotel, which turned out cheaper as well as really convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. Happy to hear that you were happy with our service and hotel and hope to see you again as our guests!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this hotel - this was our second time and were very happy to stay there again. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are big and furnished in Art Deco style. There's no air con but windows open to get some air if needed. The breakfast is good and offer both hot & continental options not to forget some typical Finnish dishes. Location is also excellent as near the station and centre.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay again and you were lucky to get one of our new rooms which are really nice.
Hope to see you again here!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night at July 2014. Great location, near the center of Helsinki. Very nice and helpful staff. The room we got was simple and a little bit old, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it.
If you are looking for good located, not luxury but also not expensive hotel, go for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review.

Best wishes,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The location of Arthur Hotel is very good, central, near the beautiful Helsinki Railway station, and within walking distance of the Esplanade (shops) and of almost all the interesting sites in Helsinki. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Room prices seem reasonable. And the breakfast gives plenty of choice. Free and excellent WiFi.
But oh oh oh the rooms. Small. Paint gone. Uncomfortable creaking and smelly beds. Small bathroom with fungus on the floor and the walls, smelling very badly, and without ventilation. Some bathrooms even lack a shower curtain. It is possible to ventilate the rooms by opening the window. But that is not advisable because of the noise and (petrol) vapor from outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gyseend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to read that you liked our staff and location.
We are renovating the rooms bit by bit. We do appreciate the comments. It would be good to inform our reception or give us an email of the room number so we could investigate the situation further. Next time I would recommend to reserve a higher class (Comfort or Art Nouveau) room.

With kind regards,
Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Probably not my choice to stay for a longer period of time, but for a couple of nights it offers a solid tourist class overnighting chance for a reasonable price. Breakfast comes with a good choice of products to suit different nation's taste, as guests come from all countries. Don't expect luxurious rooms though or freshly squeezed orange juice and fancy things :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room in higher floors and not fronting the street, quite noisy there (buses and trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoclawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm please to welcome you here another time.

Yours truly,

Ilona
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#36 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#46 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#25 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#29 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Anna Hotel
#35 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Property: Arthur Hotel
Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing