We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, comfortable although not modern.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable although not modern.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my family of two adults and two children. Was not expecting too much from a three star European hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Although not modern, this hotel is clean and comfortable. Our quad room was spacious and had a sitting area with chairs and tables. The shower was possibly the best part of the room. Although the drainage wasn’t great, a hot shower with plenty of water is a great treat after long days of exploring. Beds were really comfortable and the summer sunlight all day (and night!) long was well blocked by the curtains in the room. This was a great start to our holiday in Finland, thank you Hotel Arthur.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, it is really nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us. Hope to see you again as our guests!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    322
    261
    106
    33
See reviews for
122
186
155
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Arthur is an older hotel suitable for budget-minded travelers. This doesn't mean it's cheap -- just that it's cheap for Helsinki! It is well located in central Helsinki and in walking distance of the waterfront, railway station, and all the major attractions. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, and a computer and printer are available in the lobby for a charge of 3 euros per half hour -- handy for printing out airline boarding passes, etc. Oddly, there is also a freezer in the lobby with (not very good) ice cream for sale.

The rooms are comfortable and clean but basic. Mine had what might have been a mini-bar but it was locked and my key wouldn't open it. There is a TV with limited standard programming, but you can get BBC and Euro News. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and adequate. The included breakfast was good, with a hearty selection of items. The hotel won't win any prizes for style or refinement, but it is a very good choice for a basic, pleasant place to stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you were satisfied. It is true that we are an old hotel but comfotable as you said and very well located. We warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very closed to Central Station and shopping centers. Hotel room is comfort, big with sitting room and separate bathroom & washroom. You may enjoy budget lunch buffet which costs < €12.00.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Astra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We´re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed in the hotel last week for four nights during a congress. It's very close to the city and thus central station, bars, restaurants etc.... The hotel ist quite old-fashioned, although it seemed to me that they tried to put some new furniture in the rooms. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The staff was also very, very friendly. But still, I would not recomend this hotel for this price - my collegues stayed in other hotel for pretty much the same amout of money and there hotel was better. My room was dirty, it looked like the windows had not been cleaned for ages, the wooden floor was stained and some (not ignorable!) bread crumbs and hair were lying on the floor.Also the shopping bags of some person staying in the room before me were still lying in one corner. The shower and toilet were integrated in one small room, for me it was hard to actually shower: It was so small, I could hardly turn around ...and I am quite a skinny person. Also, it was not possible to not flood the room while showering. But the most disgusting thing: urine stains on the toilet seats, which MUST have been discovered if the room would have been cleaned before my arrival...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. My apologies that the cleaning has failed. I can promise that we are trying to do it better in the future.

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helsinki hotels

Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

A pleasant clean hotel, homely rooms which are very spacious. Quiet location for night. Great included English breakfast in the mornings. It is very central in the city, everything is walking distance and there are many restaurants close. Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Helsinki!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 11lovetotravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you here next time you are in Helsinki!

Best wishes,
Ilona
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Arthur hotel is very well-positioned for visits to the city center and to connect to the public transport network. We were staying there on recommendation of event organisers as the event itself took place on the premises. Having stayed previously in Helsinki in much higher ranked hotels, this was certainly a challenge.The hotel is conceptually nice but in a serious need of a major restructuring if it wanted to meet standards for its current rating (and prices). The room was basic with literally a single bed and a minute bathroom where shower was not separated and after taking a shower you pretty much can't use the bathroom any more as it is all wet. There was no minibar in the room. The breakfast was nice and varied and served in a nice restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful. Suitable for tourists seeking to stay in a decent place on a restricted budget.
P.S.: There were road works nearby starting from 6am, after which it was almost impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAlbreht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hotel Arthur is renovating the rooms bit by bit and although the hotel rates were quite high in June they were still in the low end compared to the rest of the city.
I would recommend you to reserve Comfort or Art nouveau class room next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

we had a reservation from Belgium.
when we came in the hotel we just could not beleve our eyes .
hotel is disquasting . very dirty the reception looks like a night shop.
so
they send us to a room at the 8the floor. and what we saw was just shocking .
the room was dirty everything was dirty and it had the look of a prison room. we went down they and told them this is not acceptable . they gave us some other room wich was even more disquasting the mattress was full of blod and urine stains . so ofcourse we went back and got realy angry . so they send us to a third room wich was their best . and there where shamehair on the bed .
so this is not a hotel . this is a past soviet prison with the staff still the same form that time.
it is the most shocking and disquasting hotel in the world and anybody going there must be mad or just not use to normal hygiene.

plz stay a way form this disquasting hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lekkerbekje777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we couldn't meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Ilona
Sales depatment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#39 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Vironniemi
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anna Hotel
#34 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#31 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Property: Arthur Hotel
Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing