We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

It looks a bit "retro" and a refurbishment is probably overdue. However, for the price this was a perfectly adequate hotel and we enjoyed our stay there.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room clean if a little on the small side, and the hotel location is first rate with many of Helsinki's sights a short walk away.

I did not enjoy the breakfast (which was included in the cost) but that might be because I find eating meatballs for breakfast strange!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanl you for your feedback. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Breakfast buffet is quite rich and there are warm dishes as well as cold cuts, bread, yougurth, fruits, berries etc. something for everyone :-)
We warmly welcome you to stay with us again.
Best regards
Miisa
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    362
    313
    124
    43
See reviews for
145
226
170
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very good situated in a center of Helsinki. Friendly staffю But the Hotel is too old and uncomfortable for the center of one of the European capitals... The room was clean and not small, the bad was owful. The bathroom was incredibly small, it was not even walled shower - water dripping into hole in the floor next to the toilet
About breakfast remembered only tomato herring - coloring, of course, but too much for me...

Room Tip: Choose more modern Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanSusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank ypu for your feedback. It is true that we are very old hotel, been here since 1907. Some of our rooms are old and the bathrooms has not been renovated. For the future, you can reserve comfort or jugend rooms, they are newer. Happy to hear that you felt our staff was friendly; as the premises are not modern we think it is the most important thing that the service is excellent.
Have a nice springtime!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We found the room clean and the bed comfortable with very friendly reception staff. We loved the breakfast (included in price) which had quite a range of choice. The hotel is close to the railway station and to most attractions in the city centre. Ask for a courtyard room so you are not bothered by traffic noise.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are best as no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Wel warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Clean, comfortable, friendly, and close enough to the centre of Helsinki to be able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
We paid extra to have the room ready for when we arrived from our long trip from Australia, and they gave us a room with lounge that was very very comfortable.
Breakfast was included and it has to be recorded - it was the best breakfast I have ever had in a European hotel. Specially, think bowls of berries and yoghurt - perfect for Finland.
I will be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The staff from reception was nice and helpful, they speak good English (something expected from any hotel in a European capital but it's not always like that!!). The room was spacious enough, simple, but clean (something fundamental for me), there was a bed, two chairs, desk, small tv, small table and a land-line telephone. The shower was good, nice water pressure and very hot water (which is good considering how cold it gets in this country). The buffet-like breakfast was ok, the food was good and you can get as much as you want. To sum up, everything could have been better, but it was more than good enough considering the price, it is a cheap hotel for a very expensive city. Location is great, central, 5 mins away walking from both train and bus stations (where you can get a bus and takes 30 mins to get to the airport).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanefdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. It is true, that we are an old hotel (been here since 1907 :-) but our location is great and our staff is friendly and helpful. We warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales departemnt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Don't believe what you see in the photos; the room was fairly run down (buy a can of paint!), and the bathroom needs a serious remodelling. But, the room is clean enough and the shower works okay, so I guess it's fine.

Room Tip: Street is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is true that some of the rooms are very old and we are renovating them little by little. Standard rooms are the oldest so in order to get a newer room there is chance to reserve comfort class or jugend class.
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've spent 5 nights at Arthur during a training trip in Helsinki. I reached the hotel easily, at walking distance from the bus station. The check-in was very quick and in seconds I was upstairs. The room was nice and big enough, even though the hotel seemed a bit old, but the place was surely ok, clean. Around the hotel are a number of restaurants and bus stops, the center is really at walking distance and I think it is in a great position. Breakfast was good and abundant with continental options. If you look for a good quality/price place to stay over a few nights it is surely worth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreailcujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. We warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Property: Arthur Hotel
Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing