We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen some life, but the location is good”
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights in the beginning and the end of our Finland tour. As we were late, as usual, most of the choises were already gone. The location of Arthur seemed quite good and it had decent reviews, so let's book it. Luckily I noticed an offer from their own site and got the room at a quite nice price. The location is very good and you can wobble from the main railway station there in 5 minutes even with big luggage. Just beware the uphill... The place looks like it has seen some life. The first night we had a room in the 5th floor practically above the reception. The room was very rough with chipped paint etc, but it was quiet. The second night was in the 6th floor in the other end of the building. This room was in a better condition, but being closer to the big street, also louder. The beds are not that good: some are too hard, some too soft, and I'm not that picky sleeper. One definitely good thing was the included breakfast. Just be there early enough to avoid the "rush hour". Given the breakfast buffet for two persons, a big portion of the price was striked away and the actual price of the room got closer to the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjobec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is true that we´re an old hotel, we have been here since 1907 and despite all the renovation done some parts still need to be renovated. Also standard rooms are the oldest and cheapist ones; we have also comfort class and jugend class and those rooms are newer. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and it is true that our location is excellent.
We wish you a nice summer!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent there one night, arriving after midnight and leaving early so I needed just a place to stay overnight. Room price was 55 eur and was in 5th floor (bed and toilet), with common shower in corridor. Only good thing in this room were clean bedsheets. Room was looking more like prison cell, wall paint falling down, not clean... Maybe other rooms are better, but this wasn't on good side for sure. I would not take this kind of room anymore. Breakfast was fine though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrimozJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your room was not clean; economy rooms are old rooms and very popular also due to the low rate. Of course the rooms should be clean, so maybe if you had said something to the reception, they would have been able to do something about that issue. We will pass this feedback to our cleaners.
We wish you a nice summer!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've spent one week in Hotel Arthur. Reading other reviews, there was the possibility to get an old room, but I was quite lucky to get a refurnished one.
It wasn't noisy, maybe because it was at 7th floor.

Good points: excellent wifi, good breakfast (the menu was changing a bit every day), very nice staff, it was the cheapest room (50€/night) in center Helsinki I was able to find (I was there for business, and it was just 5 minutes walk from the Hilton); at the reception you can buy almost everything!
They have a parking lot, but I guess it's a public one, which is something like 26 euros per day.

Bad points were: there are just curtains to prevent light from entering the room, and they are not good at it: the neverending summer day in Finland is going to ruin your sleep; I knew I had a shared bathroom, in the end I just had a shared shower... one floor down!!!

If you want to spend some time in Helsinki and you are going to use your hotel just for sleeping, then this can be a good place to go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. Nice to hear that you liked the breakfast and service. Economy rooms are cheap and small but as you wrote good enough for sleep over. Sorry to hear that the curtains didn´t keep the light out. It is true, that in the summertime it gets very dark only for a few hours. We wish you nice summer!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice price, clean, free Wi-Fi, excellent breakfast buffet and staff all very friendly and helpful. Just around the corner from the railway station and all central Helsinki attractions. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments about us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean and convenient. Very good buffet breakfast. WiFi included and very reliable. The tap water was good and drinkable.

Hotel is well located and an easy walk from the tram from the airport and the railroad.

Not much more to add, we travel to see the local sights not the hotel but we want a clean quiet place at the end of the day and this worked well for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhdrjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear you liked it here. Welcome back!
Best regards,
Sales department
Miisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel has a great location, just a few minutes walk from the shopping area, the harbor, etc. Also the bus to the airport leaves just a couple of minutes walk away. The beds are very comfy, the rooms are clean and standard is good for the price. Breakfast was also ok, but they only had hard boiled eggs. The elevators were a bit strange, no window or "pling" telling you have arrived your floor, probably not a claustrophobics favorite.. Apart from that, it was all good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmagatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. Nice to hear that you were satisfied with us. It is true that the elevators are a bit difficult cause there is no sound, but there is this little electronic board which tells on which floor are you at the moment.
Hope to see you again as our guest!
Best regards,
Sales department
Miisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located within walking distance of the main railway station. Very convenient if taking the bus from the airport, less than ten minute walk from the bus stop. Rooms modest but clean, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff, close to tram stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome again!
Best regards,
Sales department,
Miisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#42 of 64 in Helsinki
323 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
622 reviews
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#41 of 64 in Helsinki
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anna Hotel
#31 of 64 in Helsinki
356 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#36 of 64 in Helsinki
623 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: $95 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing