We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goode value - better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Goode value - better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had little time to spend in Helsinki, but I would return to this hotel if I come back. The lobby was a bit shabby and dated, so we were pleasantly surprised when we saw that our room was newly refurbished and very clean. We stayed in a family suite for four that was perfect for us (two older children)! We had to leave early and we missed breakfast, but the proximity to the train station was excellent and staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mifamilia_404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and hope to see you again here!
Best regards,
Miisa Moon
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    362
    313
    124
    43
See reviews for
145
226
170
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel has a really good location, but paying 100 eur for a night with a bathroom where you do not actually want to use the shower is bad! I saw the comment from the hotel on the other reviews, but they really should spend the money on the showers. The room itself was small, but ok. It felt a little like staying in a hostel.
There is no air condition... So the room was too warm. We were glad to stay on the back side, so it was quiet to be able to open the windows.
Breakfast was very crowded and so many people standing in line at the different stations.
For the money I paid, I would expect more and rather stay a little further outside next time, as public transportation is really good in the city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We are aware of the problems of some of the bathrooms and fortunately we finally got our board to decide that we start to renovate them next year.
Best regards,
Miisa Moon
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helsinki hotels

hong kong
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Small hotel, nice staff, clean room but colors insides rooms didnt match at all.

Standard european breakfast. Different oilve oils were available for salad. We put our belongings on the table and then went out. A waiter kindly reminded us not to do so and told us the security situation in recent europe and scandic areas. Thought he was nice, he sopke quite loud and made me believe that he want others neraby know that. It made me feel a bit embradssed as it seemed I d done sth wrong and being blamed.

No kettle in room, we couldnt make instant hot drinks.

Room Tip: our room was just besides public toliet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongsiufu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is true that some of our rooms are quite colourful :-). I am sorry, you felt embarrassed, as I am sure the waiter only ment good. We wish you a nice autumn and hope to see you here again!
Best regards,
Miisa Moon
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main train station and Stockman's department store. The breakfast was extensive and can satisfy the North American palate as well as the European. The room was somewhat small but clean, and the bathroom was small but adequate. The tram/bus runs on the next street over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0amer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments! We wish to see you again here in Hotel Arthur!
Best regards,
Miisa Moon
Sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel Arthur is very convenient to the train station and easy walking distance to the downtown areas of interest. Our room was OK (moderately large, big windows), but not very clean and the bathroom in particular had an odd odor (bad drains?). We did not try the breakfast. The desk staff helped us with bus schedules to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We are happy to collect it as much as possible. Some of our rooms are old and the bathrooms have also seen better days. We have been renovating the hotel constantly and hopefully our next target are the old bathrooms. We hope to see you again here and next time try a comfort or a brand new Jugend room.

Best regards,
Sales department
Miisa Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The main thing I remember about this hotel is dirtiness. For example all windows of this hotel were so dirty that when I watched out the window during the breakfast, I lost my appetite (partly also because of some dead bugs between window glasses). Also reception looked like a cheap bar.
Breakfast was very simple. I suggest not to take juice, because seems that it contained 99% water and 1% juice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Director of Sales at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your feed back. We are very sorry, that you felt that our hotel is very dirty. It is true, that our premises are old and as we have built some new rooms in spring we have not had chance to renovate the reception lobby and the restaurant yet. Hopefully they will be next on the list. We are also sorry that breakfast buffet did not please you. I think the juice had run out, if it was more like water. Our staff are happy to bring new juice when asked, if they have not noticed buy themselves that more juice is needed.
Best regards,
Sales department
Miisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were so friendly and willing to help! They booked us many restaurants and tours. It was one of my favourite hotels on our trip, although the lift only went to the 8th floor so we had to walk up one flight with our luggage which wasn't a problem, but might be if you were elderly/disabled/had lots of luggage. There was also a very cute and well-behaved dog behind reception when it's owner was working :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keightfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarthur, Sales Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. We also think our staff is excellent and Siiri the dog is also our favorite :-)
Hope to see you again here in our hotel!
Best regards,
Sales department
Miisa Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#45 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Property: Arthur Hotel
Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing