We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The location is very good. 300 m to the bus- and railwaystation. 50 m to metro and the main touristspot tram (3t+b)! The senate square is also just nearby. The hotel is on the end of a dead end street with the Botanic garden around the corner.

We stayed in a triple room that was VERY large with three comfortably single beds. The room was clean, bathroom ok, a little dated. TV and free WiFi. Waterboiler and coffee/tee in the room. A downside was that you could hear everything in the corridor.

Breakfast was variated and large and they got soyayogurt for me (allergic).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    365
    314
    124
    43
See reviews for
145
227
172
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've visited this hotel several times during the past 15-20 years. I had a bit high expectations as they advertise their recent renovation. Well, there are nice suites and superior rooms, but the standard rooms are far below the average Finnish ***-hotels. Tiny, worn-out bathroom, some holes in the walls, unconfortable bed and the room was hot already in May! (no AC). Also the hotel sauna was available only on extra fee - quite uncommon in Finnish hotels! The breakfast was very modest - which is unusual in Finland. The room rates are ridiculously over the standard. We chose this hotel as the other hotels in the area were sold out (and we had to stay in this particular area). If I had to choose now, I'd rather book in some other area (as the local transportation in Helsinki is good) or book Radisson Plaza Helsinki around the corner - well in advance of course to have an offer price. The only thing in this hotel (in addition to its location) is the friendly staff.

Room Tip: check out the renovated rooms and book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helsinki hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I had a triple room for my family. The room was large and it seemed as though it was recently renovated.However, the hallways were not clean and the carpet had stains.

The hotel's location is excellent and the proximity to the Central Station makes it convenient for travelers.

Buffet breakfast was pretty good too. Lots of choices for vegetarians too...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akgandhi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I gave it my number on booking.com. It took the money- which it really should not have done at all- twice, and except for "we can't be bothered to sort things out at weekends" (it is a Wednesday now) has offfered no explanation for either taking the money twice or failing to refund it,

If you must stay here- good location, ghastly coffee, pretentious impractical shower fittings- only pay cash

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Didn't like it really - old building, rooms need renovation, breakfast is just very average. Wasn't definitely worth 150 €/night for a triple room we've had.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voffka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Despite its central location, I was disappointed by my small and shabby room. For more or less the same price, you can find better hotels in Helsinki. Service was friendly though. Breakfast was bog-standard. However, I would not book this hotel myself - the reservation was made by the organisers of our trip. The best feature of the hotel is its location just off the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssirpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nothing really worked out for me at this hotel. My room was noisy, although I had asked for a quiet room; but worse yet, it had a smell of a very unpleasant cologne that just would not go away. The hotel has some lower-rate rooms that folks who work in Helsinki on a regular basis can book. That part of the hotel is the worst part, and in my opinion not worth it, as some of the rooms do not have bathrooms. If you want a cheap, but clean hotel in town, then the Omena chain will be a much better choice for that purpose. The breakfast is fine. Overall the hotel has a bit stuffy and worn-out ambience, and I can't really think of any reason to recommend it. The receptionists were nice, though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#44 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#41 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Property: Arthur Hotel
Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing