We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very clean hotel with friendly employees. Hotel was situated in a great location, this hotel also had great food. The gift shop within the hotel was also a nice bonus. The rooms were very clean and I had a good sleep every night of the trip. I felt very safe in this hotel which is always a good feeling when you're travelling.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddysucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    800
    363
    85
    31
See reviews for
371
449
154
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Marina 3 nights for business. I usually come to Helsinki twice a year and stayed at different hotels before, never at this one. It is located close to the harbour, about 15 min walk to the shopping area. After checking reviews on tripadvisor I expected something different. We got a pretty good rate but for this I got a very basic room, pretty old, not clean, ongoing noise from ventilation and only very few TV channels which were English or German. The bed though was very comfortable. Breakfast was horrible, never saw such food served in a hotel of that category. Made me feel like back in school. I skipped it after the first day and just took a few croissants. If I have a chance to choose the hotel I will go for a different one next time I come back....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keklenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a citytrip and stayed one night in this hotel. Staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and clean, we had a Nice view to the haven were we could see our cruiseship. Breakfast buffet was good, lots of choice. Short walk to the city centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marloes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Good scandic design. Hotel situated near Viking line doc in quiet and beautiful seaside part of town.
There is all as you need in the rooms.
One thing that was no good for me is a two beds with two blankets and thin pillows

Helpful?
Thank Евгений В
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Marina for 7 nights and all in all found in to be excellent. Our arrival didn't get off to the best start and we had to wait about twenty minutes in a queue to get checked in, but I never saw such a queue again so I think we may have arrived at a popular time. We were checked into an upper room which had a porthole window with excellent views, rooms were clean and well presented.
The Hotel is ideally situated for visiting Helsinki being as it is overlooking the Harbour, the main town centre is less than five minutes walk away and there is a tram stop towards the rear entrance of the hotel. The trams are an excellent way to get around Helsinki, we bought our week ticket from an automated machine At the railway station, but you can buy off the driver and at many other outlets. Just hop on the tram no need to show your ticket, we never got asked for our ticket the entire length of our stay.
This would now be my first choice of hotel in Helsinki based on value and location

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. The hotel is well appointed and the rooms are fresh and clean. There were a number of touring parties staying and so breakfast was hectic. There were plenty of seats however. I didn't use the restaurant for dinner but the city centre is a short walk away and there are restaurants there. The hotel bar did seem to close quite early on Sunday night. Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel8lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This slightly quirky ex-warehouse on the docks is fun! Close to the centre, it offered good rooms (we asked for a harbour view and got it. Breakfast was good and at the end of a bus tour of 15 days we enjoyed a well-presented dinner.

The reception staff were the best we encountered in nine countries of our trip, even if Finland lost their world ice-hockey game to the US.

Happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#35 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#16 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Property: Scandic Grand Marina
Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice seaside location close to Helsinki city center in an old ware house building from 1912 in Katajanokka, close to Helsinki SkyWheel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing