We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Grand Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel at the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a citytrip and stayed one night in this hotel. Staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and clean, we had a Nice view to the haven were we could see our cruiseship. Breakfast buffet was good, lots of choice. Short walk to the city centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marloes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    847
    378
    93
    32
See reviews for
391
479
160
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Good scandic design. Hotel situated near Viking line doc in quiet and beautiful seaside part of town.
There is all as you need in the rooms.
One thing that was no good for me is a two beds with two blankets and thin pillows

Helpful?
Thank Евгений В
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Marina for 7 nights and all in all found in to be excellent. Our arrival didn't get off to the best start and we had to wait about twenty minutes in a queue to get checked in, but I never saw such a queue again so I think we may have arrived at a popular time. We were checked into an upper room which had a porthole window with excellent views, rooms were clean and well presented.
The Hotel is ideally situated for visiting Helsinki being as it is overlooking the Harbour, the main town centre is less than five minutes walk away and there is a tram stop towards the rear entrance of the hotel. The trams are an excellent way to get around Helsinki, we bought our week ticket from an automated machine At the railway station, but you can buy off the driver and at many other outlets. Just hop on the tram no need to show your ticket, we never got asked for our ticket the entire length of our stay.
This would now be my first choice of hotel in Helsinki based on value and location

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. The hotel is well appointed and the rooms are fresh and clean. There were a number of touring parties staying and so breakfast was hectic. There were plenty of seats however. I didn't use the restaurant for dinner but the city centre is a short walk away and there are restaurants there. The hotel bar did seem to close quite early on Sunday night. Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel8lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This slightly quirky ex-warehouse on the docks is fun! Close to the centre, it offered good rooms (we asked for a harbour view and got it. Breakfast was good and at the end of a bus tour of 15 days we enjoyed a well-presented dinner.

The reception staff were the best we encountered in nine countries of our trip, even if Finland lost their world ice-hockey game to the US.

Happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Scandic Grand Marina hotel is situated nearby the habour in a former storehouse built over 100 years ago. You can easily walk to the Helsinki city center. The rooms are clean and quiet. In the morning you can enjoy a very good breakfest. Have been here many times and I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The only bright side of my stay was the proximity to the city center. The difficulties I experienced;
No late check-outs allowed, limited choices for breakfast, very very slow room service even though you pay 10 euros on top of what you order as the room service surcharge, overall cleanliness is not up to par ,etc., etc.,... (the quality of the rooms will remind you of your college dorm days!..)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamillo681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#36 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Property: Scandic Grand Marina
Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a beautiful warehouse building from the early 1900s, and features plus-sized rooms and modern meeting facilities. The large arched windows and high ceilings create a spacious and bright atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. During the summertime, guests can also enjoy our large terrace. In addition to the hotel's own meeting facilities, the adjacent Marina Congress Center offers settings for events and functions of up to 2,500 people. There is plenty of parking space just outside the hotel and in the garage. The hotel offers WiFi, a gym, a sauna, and a 24-hour shop. You can borrow a bicycle or sticks for Nordic walking from the reception. Close to the Helsinki city centre, the hotel is located by the sea in idyllic Kajanokka next to the Market Square, Uspenski Cathedral, and the Helsinki SkyWheel. The hotel offers an excellent starting point to see the sights, spend some time shopping or enjoy the restaurants and nightlife of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing