We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel at a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Vasa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good hotel at a good location”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Scandic Grand Marina one night in august while in Helsinki on business. I was very pleased with my stay. I have nothing to complain about, the rooms were nice, hotel was quiet at night, good breakfast, smooth check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    989
    433
    107
    35
See reviews for
488
568
187
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here in September while in Helsinki on business, and having never visited Finland before was keen to see how the hospitality compared.
First impressions were good, reception staff were very welcoming, and spoke good English which was just as well for us Surrey Boys!
The rooms were clean and functional as is expected for Scandinavia, but on the downside, there were no tea or coffee facilities. One word of warning, all of the room doors open outwards, so be sure to walk a line down the middle of the corridors!
The bar service was pretty good, although it was soon apparent that Helsinki is as violent on your wallet as an embittered ex-wife. Again, on the downside, why are hotel bars so unwelcoming, and more a doctors waiting room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG-B19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a "Superior Extra" room I that was booked online.

I arrived at 10am on the day I checked in (I had taken the overnight ferry from Stockholm) and my room was already available for check in which was great. The room itself was very large with multiple couches, big windows looking out over the harbour and a large bathroom.

The hotel is located less than 5 minutes walk from the main ferry terminal. It is also a great location close to all the main attractions.

Breakfast was included, the usual hot/cold buffet with a variety of choices. The reception staff were very friendly and assisted with booking a taxi for my early morning flight the day I left (and a breakfast was available even though it was much earlier).

I would definitely recommend this particular scandic hotel and would stay here again. It seems the Scandic brand of hotels do a lot to make sure they are a "green" environmentally friendly business.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PaulGMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located to explore Helsinki and also to park your car at decent costs even though it is in the city centre. I have stayed many times in this hotel where the basic category rooms are usually not big but always on similar good standards: they are simply furnished but comfortable, quiet and clean. The hotel personal is always friendly and helpful and the restaurant serves decent food although not exceptional. This hotel is simply very well priced for what it offers and constant in quality: I have not been a single time disappointed despite dozens of stays there.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank camouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to main attractions & restaurants. Place felt like a motel. First the key to our room didn't work, once it did found the room was not made. Had to go back down and get another room. Room is on the small side. Very basic bathroom. Breakfast just ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This property is near the esplanade & harbor as well as some of the ferries to & from other countries. Be sure the ferry you are taking arrives at/departs from the main harbor. The restaurant was very good for dinner, but not open for lunch on Sunday! The hours for breakfast varied from 7 AM M-F, to 7:30 on Sat. & 8 AM on Sunday, which seemed late to me. Breakfast is fine although they could provide more fruit as well as tea pots for tea. The rooms are adequate & the bathroom is on the small side (definitely a 1 person space), but there is a good amount of light. Service @ Reception varies; we changed money one Sunday, but were told two weeks later, on a Saturday, it wasn't possible to do so. Huh?

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors facing the harbor would have a good view. Rooms facing the harbor also are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Terrible pillows you have, sorry! And no extra pillows in our room. I suggest you to at least get more pillows to the rooms or get better ones so that the sleep quality is better. Location was excellent and the breakfast was good. Your congress area was also okay. The service was friendly. In my opinion the best thing in your hotel was the location, but get better pillows soon, please!

Room Tip: Take your own pillows with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,235 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,662 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
596 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#22 of 65 in Helsinki
1,773 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Property: Scandic Grand Marina
Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a beautiful warehouse building from the early 1900s, and features plus-sized rooms and modern meeting facilities. The large arched windows and high ceilings create a spacious and bright atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. During the summertime, guests can also enjoy our large terrace. In addition to the hotel's own meeting facilities, the adjacent Marina Congress Center offers settings for events and functions of up to 2,500 people. There is plenty of parking space just outside the hotel and in the garage. The hotel offers WiFi, a gym, a sauna, and a 24-hour shop. You can borrow a bicycle or sticks for Nordic walking from the reception. Close to the Helsinki city centre, the hotel is located by the sea in idyllic Kajanokka next to the Market Square, Uspenski Cathedral, and the Helsinki SkyWheel. The hotel offers an excellent starting point to see the sights, spend some time shopping or enjoy the restaurants and nightlife of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing