We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and good location to discover the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Bled, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel and good location to discover the city”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really nice hotel at excellent location if you want to discover Helsinki. Room was perfect, breakfast was great and there is also a big public sauna. Gym is also big and nice. Very organised staff and helpful with organising taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    989
    433
    107
    35
See reviews for
488
568
187
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

A very popular hotel and Nice location but heavily work out and room standard at a low level. Decoration?? White walls with lightbulbs. Carpets? Njet. I had to pay 30 euro extra for a non smoker room despite i had ordered one. Television hardly working. Breakfast was ok thou,nothing extra but on the level. Pillows too big and hard but mattress ok. Overall its acceptable but too expensive for the substandard they deliver today. Finland is famous for good design and quality and they should invest some money and put the hotel back at a top notch level

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We chose this hotel for our first visit to Helsinki and were very pleased to find that it ticked all the right boxes. Nice room with a sea view as requested. Yes the windows are small but that is part of the buildings character and charm as it is an old warehouse. The interior however is very modern, serviceable and pleasing to the eye. The included breakfast was excellent and couldn't be faulted, almost every European option was available.
The Grand Marina is excellently located right next to the harbour and around a 5-10 min walk to the city centre and some of Helsinki's main attractions. The tram stops just behind the hotel and bikes are available for free from reception so you can explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view (there is an option to request this when you book via the Scandic web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aturningtide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only 5 mins walk from Kauppatori and 10mins from the city center. Not too bad for me. Room was small and outdated but clean and comfortable. Worked for me for one night I stayed during my stay. Free car park in the front of hotel!! Remember to ask voucher from the reception to avoid parking fee. Breakfast was typical Scandic selection = very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nicely located; about 10 minute walk from the Esplanade. Area seems safe enough. Historic area near dock and nearby Orthodox Church. Our room was cell-like - long and narrow. Small window which would only open 3 inches at the most. Plastic wood-look floor. Bathroom was modern and clean. Good shower. Beds OK. Absolute worst part was the breakfast: many families with out-of-control screaming kids, clean tables impossible to find, quality of food marginal. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try your best to get an upgrade and avoid the cell-like typical rooms. Go to breakfast early to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceShotSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Scandic, the reincarnation of a magnificently restored and updated industrial building about 100 years old, close to Helsinki's docks, is a city land-mark. This was my third visit. My hosts had arranged for me to stay in a suite (with sauna!), but it turned out to be very dark as none of the hotel's exterior could be altered to provide for modern features. To the consternation of the front desk, I asked to move, and did so to a smaller two-level suite with excellent light. In general, service was slow and sometimes grudging,. The hotel did not seem as sharp as on past visits. Breakfast is an assembly-chain and charmless business with ordinary food and, unusually for Nordic countries, sub-standard coffee. As my French school teachers used to write on my report-cards: "can do better"! And should, without much extra effort. Overall, though, the combination of building, location and originality is hard to beat in Helsinki, one of the world's most charming small capitals.

Room Tip: A regular double room is likely as good as a suite, judging from my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel because of the location near the Helsinki zoo ferry. We had a family room which was big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. The room had a proper ac and was very clean. At the breakfast there were a good selection of choices. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and both the evenings we had our dinner at the hotel restaurant. We had the dinner buffet which we found a great value for money. Kids had their own mini buffet. There also is a la carte menu available. The kids' play corner was big enough that adults could finish their dinner. All the staff were kind and helpful. The hotel and restaurant was full booked but they arranged us a table at the first evening after all. Ask for a room with harbour view if you have small kids with you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Konsta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,237 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,663 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
596 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#22 of 65 in Helsinki
1,775 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Property: Scandic Grand Marina
Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a beautiful warehouse building from the early 1900s, and features plus-sized rooms and modern meeting facilities. The large arched windows and high ceilings create a spacious and bright atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. During the summertime, guests can also enjoy our large terrace. In addition to the hotel's own meeting facilities, the adjacent Marina Congress Center offers settings for events and functions of up to 2,500 people. There is plenty of parking space just outside the hotel and in the garage. The hotel offers WiFi, a gym, a sauna, and a 24-hour shop. You can borrow a bicycle or sticks for Nordic walking from the reception. Close to the Helsinki city centre, the hotel is located by the sea in idyllic Kajanokka next to the Market Square, Uspenski Cathedral, and the Helsinki SkyWheel. The hotel offers an excellent starting point to see the sights, spend some time shopping or enjoy the restaurants and nightlife of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing