We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting Location”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is part of Helsinki's South Harbour old warehouse district, close to a number of ferry terminals, but also in walking distance to the city center. That makes its location pretty unique and interesting. The hotel seems slightly overpriced even for Scandinavian standards, but it is functional and clean, the breakfast (despite of warnings) is scandinavian-like comprehensive and organized, and the good gym is open 24h. Wifi-access is free, but unnecessarily complicated with vouchers, which expire every 24h and TV-coverage is limited to Finnish channels, which is specifically annoying, when you suffer from jet lag.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    974
    430
    104
    36
See reviews for
474
562
183
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was attending a conference at Helsinki and the Grand Marina Hotel is right across the street from the convention center. Good hotel with all the BASIC amenities, nice selection for breakfast buffet. Wifi connection is good and room is clean. I also received a welcome pack, which was a good treat. The hotel is within walking distance from city center area and is quiet enough to ear sea gull chipping. I am not sure I will stay here agian if I am not attending a conference across the street but this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just came back from a short business trip to Helsinki, covering the week end, and stayed in this hotel, and all I can say is that it simply is missing a character.

The hotel is quite nicely located (at least it was for me since close to where I needed to be), and looking to its facade, you feel like entering an exciting place, but keep your expectations for yourself, its just a plain hotel. Rooms are large, clean, only problem the TV is not well placed and just is a pain to watch it (and very limited interesting channels). Bathrooms are old, only good for a quick shower (and no soap in dispensers, so make sure to have yours with you). Fairly good internet connection, but extremely annoying to have to enter the password each and every time you have to use it.Very basic breakfast, with nothing really special than ordinary dishes you'd be expecting from any such hotel (including plain taste). However, nice and helpful stuff is certainly a plus.

All and all, I would recommended it if and only if the stay is short and time spent at the hotel is just for sleep, and places you need to go are nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Helsinki was a real surprise,a nd whilst this was a business trip I am going back for pleasure. The people are friendly and relaxed, the city whilst smallish, is lovely and clean, if a little cold, but thats part of its charm. Lots to see and do for 3-4 days I would say. The hotel is very 'Scandic' very scandanavian, clean functional and comfortable. Good gym, nice restaurant excellent breakfast and close to the city centre. My standard room had a bath with shower over, twin beds and plenty of space, but I wouldnt say a huge room by any stretch. I am planning my trip for next year.
Make sure you visit Fortress of Suomenlinna

Room Tip: take warm cloths if your going in the winter!!!! visit Fortress of Suomenlinna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the outside the building looks fantastic and being near the harbour is quite handy for those wanting to do day-trips to the islands or to walk along the main promenade.

I visit Helsinki several times a year on business so I thought this time I would try a different hotel but was very disappointed with how dull and basic this hotel is.

I am not generally a fussy person, but my room was bare and the furniture that was there was clearly the cheapest (and rather dated) that they could find. I once stayed in a private room at a hostel in Helsinki and even that was cosier and nicer.

I noticed that several bus-loads of retired tourists stop over every night, so that might give you an idea of the vibe in the hotel.

Wifi is free (24 hour passwords available from reception), breakfast is nice enough and it is a nice 10 minute walk to the main shopping area such as Stockman so it's not all bad. Taxi's are always waiting at the front of the hotel which is convenient also.

But if you are looking to stay for business (or indeed even pleasure), then see my other reviews of Helsinki hotels, there are other plenty of other great alternatives available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Compared to other Scandic hotels located nearer to the center, Scandic Grand Marina has bigger room, with simple furnitures provided inside the room. The hotel is near to Kauppatori, but need to take tram or have a walk to go to the center. Like other hotels in Finland, it has child play area which is useful for kids to spend some time to play after breakfast. Breakfast is also good, but not superb. I think I always have the same breakfast menu while visiting Scandic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlamaC133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Check-in and reception were all very promising, but the other TA reviews describing the rooms as travelodge-esque were absolutely right. Very small single bed and tiny window, enough to lay your head but really don't expect any more.

Also, the hotel is currently being refurbished and work started at 7.30am local time, which for those travelling from the UK is 5.30am body clock. Some of my colleagues had rooms with no running water. Not good at all.

Overall, average at the very best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula24jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
566 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#22 of 65 in Helsinki
1,719 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Property: Scandic Grand Marina
Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a beautiful warehouse building from the early 1900s, and features plus-sized rooms and modern meeting facilities. The large arched windows and high ceilings create a spacious and bright atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. During the summertime, guests can also enjoy our large terrace. In addition to the hotel's own meeting facilities, the adjacent Marina Congress Center offers settings for events and functions of up to 2,500 people. There is plenty of parking space just outside the hotel and in the garage. The hotel offers WiFi, a gym, a sauna, and a 24-hour shop. You can borrow a bicycle or sticks for Nordic walking from the reception. Close to the Helsinki city centre, the hotel is located by the sea in idyllic Kajanokka next to the Market Square, Uspenski Cathedral, and the Helsinki SkyWheel. The hotel offers an excellent starting point to see the sights, spend some time shopping or enjoy the restaurants and nightlife of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing