We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel like a Finn”
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Travel like a Finn”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Now that I've been to Finland a couple of time, I'm feeling like an expert. I've stayed at a pricey place and a reasonable place and visited a few of the more famous hotels in Helsinki. I'm happy to report that you do NOT have to spend hundreds of euros a night for a nice place in the City Center. I love the Anna Hotel. It's a European Style hotel - of course! It's in Europe! There are friendly people at the front desk who speak English and are very friendly. Remember! Finns are not a chatty people.

My room was small with a twin bed, desk, dresser, window and shower bath. Everything was very clean. The hotel is just around the corner from the restaurants and bars. This means you can walk to everything but you can sleep away from the nightlife noise. The price includes a buffet breakfast. Nothing fancy, but very nice. DO NOT MISS THE SAUNA. I think I paid 7E for a visit to the private sauna which includes, a dressing room, a shower and the sauna. It was marvelous! I made use of my entire hour. Then I sort of melted back to my room and fell sound asleep.

There's a church and park across the street. In the winter, the park turns into an ice skating rink and it's absolutely gorgeous. You're also a short walk to the marina and all the ice cream and coffee stands by the water. It's just lovely. Oh yes! The Finnish Design Museum is also a very short walk. We thought this museum was fascinating!

The rates are a bargain for Helsinki, but I felt I didn't give up a thing. I will stay there again later this year. Moi Moi for now. Kitos!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get away from late night street noise. Bars and restaurants are just arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It is entertaining reading your describing and positive review of both Hotel Anna and everything nearby. I´m glad that you have found us and that you have enjoyed Helsinki as such. We are already waiting for your next visit.
Kind regards

Kari Törmä
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    168
    66
    20
    5
See reviews for
44
48
97
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

First impression was a little bit negative. However the bedroom was very clean, the staff helpful.
The bedroom was spacious...and quiet.
The breakfast buffet is nice and various. It took us 7 minutes by walk to be in the Esplanade, in the heart of the city. Dont forget to book the taxi for the airport by the hôtel ( yellow taxi ), it is much cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hyvää huomenta, hyvää päivää, hyvää iltaa, tervetuloa uudelleen. If you dont know what this means in Finnish, dont worry, neither does the staff at Hotel Anna. This is a decent looking hotel, ok location, rooms ok for the price range and it seems to have a touch that someone actually knows how to run a hotel. But, then it fails completely concerning the service.
Arriving during night, some bored lady in the reception opened the room and gave the key. No hellos, smiles or anything. For breakfast there was available a pretty basic serving, hosted by a mute or something. This is exceptionally sad for the overall image of Finland, as during the breakfast there was a Russian family, some Asian woman, a man from mid East and obviously a Finnish person. When the Finn left, he actually said thank you to the host who didnt pay attention.

When checking out, there was a lady teaching a young guy the tricks of the hotel. I stood waiting for 20 seconds before the noted me and checked me out. The correct way of serving people in this kind of situation is to say hello, just a minute, so you know that you have been noticed. This was not obvious for me anymore in this hotel though.

I think the hotel should re-think their strategy here. If they really want to have staff, please make them serve the guests and give added value. Otherwise I recommend a more Omena hotel approach with no staff. This would decrease the costs and not give too high hopes for the guests, and also directly competing in a lower price segment.

This is a hotel that is in the same price range with hotel Finn and Omena. I rather recommend those as Omena has bigger rooms and Finn excellent location with some nice touch and attitude among the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your detailed review that concerned us all at Hotel Anna. It is interesteing reading and very useful information for developing of our services. We will take your response seriously and see to that all concerned departments read your review and I will ones again remind the employees of the importance of greeting guests and wish them welcome and courteous manners.
Looking forward to accommodate you again in the near future, since you provide us with so valuable information.

Kari Törmä
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Anna is a small hotel with perfect location om Helsinki.
Close to shopping, restaurants,
museums and if you want to make Helsinki in some days.
Friendly personal, small rooms and excelent
value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel Anna is standard, basic and oldish in condition. Stayed in Superior Twin Room which is spacious other than the disappointing bathroom. Hotel is ok for occasional stays. Located in area known in Helsinki for bars, clubs, restaurants and small shops (old town). Average 3 Mbps internet that drops connection occasionally. Friendly staff and palatable diverse breakfast. 15 minute walk (1 km) to city centre. Car parking is available in back of nearby streets; note that zone 2 is free in weekends (weekdays 9-21 paid), don't park at zone 1 where you can get tickets.

Located in a normal city housing block that has been converted into a hotel. The elevator is slow as turtle, the rooms have initial damp, moist feeling especially in late spring winter time at +2 temparatures when humidity in its highest (Helsinki is near the sea). It's best to freshen the room by opening the windows for 10 minutes upon arrival.

The rooms haven't been updated for a while. Overall ok. Some paint chips cracks around doorframes etc. Bathroom's floor tiling is even and won't hurt your feet but the sink is *tiny*: you can hardly use it for teeth brushing or have both hands in in at same time (no kidding) without water splashing all over. The bathroom "table" where you can place your cups, deodorant, razor etc. is *only* 15 cm wide plastic and has stains burned into it from previous uses. It almost completely blocks the use of narrow sink underneath. Bad design choice overall that affects functionality in longer stays. All towels are changed every day even if you don't ask (by leaving them on a floor).

Bed for me was a bit too soft, but this is a matter of taste. Pillows didn't give enough firm support for my neck but in all fairness you can tuck them in all ways possible because the are volumious. Two people can't sleep together because beds are separate -- there is a huge gap between the beds; the other person falls into the "crack" when trying to be close.

The Wifi connection details are conveniently displayed at the room's table. Wifi works without much configuration: search for network id "Hotel Anna", click connect, open web page and type in password displayed in the plaque. No time limits, no asking day-by-day passwords from the front desk. The connected speed announced was 65 Mbps but speedtest.net gave speeds 3 M (up) / 1 M (down). Signal strength however was strong (3/5 bars).

Breakfast is typical scandinavian, cold ham, cheese, breakds, muesli, yoghourt, coffee (machine, not make in place), cold eggs, mini frankfurter warm snacks. You'll get by fine a day with it. Oh, one of the wings is located directly above local church, so expect to hear occasional piano christian music in weekends (not really that disturbing). Otherwise quite place, no nearby traffic to lost sleep.

Room Tip: If you want space, select Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JariAalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The staff deserves special recognition, going out of their way to arrange us a late check-out. Our other extra requests were likewise promptly met. Also, heated toilet floor (I know it sounds minute, but try it when it's -15C outside). Realistically you don't expect miracles checking into a 3*, but it's always nice not being disappointed. We got a nice room at a good price (94E, booked the day before), breakfast included, with a good view. Good location, and a decent breakfast. I know this is not relevant for most, but it felt nice meeting compatriots working there.
Nothing negative really comes to mind. A bit out of the way (5~10 min walk to the very center), but that's as much good as it is bad.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikoraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I was here for one night. The location is outstanding in the Middle of everything in Helsinki city center. I got a deal, otherwise it doesn't worth it because the room where I stayed was super extra tiny, like in Hong Kong or Singapore!! So if you don't mind to be in a tiny room just go! Clean and safe ok

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 64 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#27 of 64 in Helsinki
376 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#44 of 64 in Helsinki
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
1,071 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#33 of 64 in Helsinki
1,417 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located cozy hotel on walking distance from major Department Stores. Situated in an area of Design Boutiques, Art Galleries and trendy Pubs and nice restaurants. Free WiFi or hotel guests. Hotel has a breakfast room, small sauna and meeting room for 12 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing