We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed my time at Hotel Anna and would stay here again. It is very convenient to public transport - within 1 block of tram 3B/3T, bus 14/18/17 and also bus 24 (plus others). Very easy walk to downtown and to many of the sights. I walked to/from the train station in ~15 minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Plus the desk is staffed 24/7 so there is always a body at the front desk. Breakfast is good though each morning I went for breakfast they were already out of the hot food (eggs, meat, french toast) and it seems that they only put out one tray of the hot food and that's it. They serve breakfast for 3 hours each day and I typically got there in the 2nd hour but missed the hot food. But they also have cereal, a few items of canned fruit, a few fresh veggies, toast / bread / rolls, sliced cold meats and cheese, plus coffee and tea. Basic, filling but few protein choices. There were also several restaurants nearby. As pointed out by other reviewers, the rooms have no AC so they can get warm and stuffy. I was thankful for having 2 windows in my room that I could open so I could get some breeze. My windows faced toward the back which was quiet nearly all the time so I could sleep with windows open. I had a single room which had a twin bed and was perfect for one person. There is also a mini-frig, in-room safe, desk/chair etc. - very pleased with the room, the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: If you're visiting during warmer months (May - August), ask for a room with 2 windows that can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and presentation of both the hotel and Helsinki. You gave us useful information that we have to look into, so we can improve our service and product for you and other guests to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    135
    57
    16
    5
See reviews for
33
39
81
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nueziders, Austria
Level Contributor
207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

the hotel is very simple and the roooms are tiny - I visited during the heat 30 degree and it was unbearable. The hotel is lacking an aircon and sleep was impossible for 2 straight nights. In winter it might be an bargain but in this hot tempreture (which is seldom the case in Helsinki ) it was almost Torture. Choose the right time of the year !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Loved the hotel, had good service- which was not common anywhere else in Helsinki. Loved our room. Top floor and although no a/c the fan they had in the room sufficed. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of choices.

Location was ok. A few choices of restaurants nearby. But otherwise you need to cab to most places. Public transportation is hard to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boonutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My parents always stay here when they come to visit. It's clean, well located and the people are friendly and efficient. There's a spacious corner room which has a nice view over the street and a playground. Short walk to good public transport connections and some very nice restaurants and bars.

Helpful?
1 Thank djima
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Tiny room, tiny bathroom, somewhat short bed, excellent internet connection, good value breakfast. Stairs impossible to avoid. Friendly and helpful staff. near Design Museum. Some 300 m from tram stop (10) and cca 1 km to railway station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZEkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is a good option if you want a budget alternative when visiting Helsinki.The location is on walking distance from the city centre and there is a tram station almost around the block. Very friendly and helpful receptionists, perfectly OK breakfast offer with enough alternatives, basic rooms with surpricingly comfortable bed matresses (many times it is the other way around: fancy rooms but beds hard to sleep in). Free wireless internet.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talikko, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear "Inake",
Thank you for the nice words and informative review. We are glad to hear that you got a good sleep in our comfortable beds and the receptionist are thrilled when they get nice feedback on their performance. Hopefully other travellers will note that too. Looking forward to see you next time when you come to Helsinki.
Kind regards

Kari Törmä
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location in the Helsinki's design district, with easy access to various tram lines and within walking distance of the main bus and train stations.
The rooms are on the small side, but clean and reasonably comfortable. There will be some traffic noise from rooms on the street side of the building - the courtyard rooms are much quieter.
The breakfast is great - lots of choices hot and cold, as well as coffee and juices.
The wi-fi was spotty, but otherwise the Anna seemed like a great choice for a stay in central Helsinki.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard will be quieter. The standard singles are quite small, but the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lima33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#38 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#25 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located cozy hotel on walking distance from major Department Stores. Situated in an area of Design Boutiques, Art Galleries and trendy Pubs and nice restaurants. Free WiFi or hotel guests. Hotel has a breakfast room, small sauna and meeting room for 12 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing