We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day with Paulo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulo's Tours

Paulo's Tours
Ranked #3 of 65 Tours in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paulos tours. We provide private tours guide service in Helsinki.All the tours can be tailor to the client request we use different transportation all depending the size and needs from the clients. We have different prices for tours depending what the client will required. We make sure that we will use a guide that is full trained for all the tours that we provide. We also can organise transfer from port to port and airport to airport. Just send us a e-mail and we take care of every thing. Regards Paulo Paulos tours
Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great day with Paulo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Couldn't decide how to experience Helsinki on our Norwegian BAltic Cruise. We ended up booking a 4 hour excursion with Paulo Tours. It was perfect. We got to see all the sites plus get a good feel of the surrounding areas that are so beautiful and and so very important to the people of Helsinki. Paulo was a very knowledgable guide who was able to get us into places quickly and easily with his small van. We had time to experience the market square and try out the local meat pies at Paulo's favorite place. Paulo talked about the people, culture and history of Helsinki. We wanted to get a good overall feeling of Helsinki during this brief stopover, and that's what we got. Paulo was a lot of fun. He was a wonderful guide. I would not hesitate to recommend him. I can see why he is so highly praised in trip advisor reviews. Thank you Paulo for a wonderful day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mistyblue528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paulo gave us a great tour of Helsinki!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a morning tour of Helsinki with Paulo during an overnight layover before returning to the United States.It was a great experience,giving us a wonderful overall view of the city.Paulo provides terrific insights about Helsinki and gives a real sense of its history,customs and lifestyle.We can recommend his services highly.
David and Pegeen

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We cruised on Brilliance of the Seas in May. We have cruised enough to know we wanted private tours. I found Paulo on Yahoo! After checking Trip Advisor decided he was our man in Helsinki.
He met us at the ship as arranged. It was immediately apparent that he loves Finland. He can talk nonstop about his country and does!!! He is not from Finland, but probably knows more than most natives.The ride was comfortable and the tour flew by. He showed us all the highlights of Helsinki. He then took us to Porvoo; narrating the entire time. It is a wonderful quaint little town.After a visit to a lovely church we had lunch at a cafe recommended by Paulo The food was excellent! Wereturned to the ship and said our goodbyes. Once back on the ship, I realized I had left my camera case in Paulo 's van. He found it and contacted me via email. He offered to mail it to me. Sure enough, a few days after I returned home it arrived. I would not hesitate to recommend Paulo to anyone.He goes above and beyond in his tour and in the way he treats his customers.

LMB1027

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lmb1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly, knowledgable private service at great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Knowledge: Paulo filled the 45 minute car ride from Helsinki to Porvoo with an impressive knowledge of modern Finnish history which speaks to his appreciation of the culture. His perspective as a foreigner born individual living in Finland may make you think you’ll be missing out on true Finnish perspective but in a sense this makes Paulo’s viewpoint less biased (see other reviews on this site) and it is interesting to hear how that affects his personal life and his view on raising a family in Helsinki.

Personality: Paulo was honest, on time, quick to respond to emails. He is very approachable and easy to converse with. It was clear he was client focused when he called my US phone to verify that he received payment. He even emailed me, unsolicited, about a week before our trip just to say he’d be away and not checking his email but he’d see us at the time and place we agreed on (and he was there early).

Flexibility: Paulo helped us plan our travel around a tight schedule, picking us up at the airport, giving a Helsinki tour then dropping us off at the airport. He then met us again a week later at our hotel for a tour of Porvoo. The time of year we went was very slow and he was upfront that it would be quiet with not too much to see. To be honest, we tend to like seeing places during the off season. It was nice that he let us shop in Porvoo and see the Rock Church on our own while he waited in his car. He tries to do whatever possible to make sure the client is always right (i.e. offering free future tours if things are not up to par – see other comments on this site). Paulo was honest enough to tell us about such situations mostly so we knew it was OK to express problems. Of course, we had none to mention. In general Paulo will do his best to to do what you, not he, wants.


Value: The price is a steal for the professionalism received, especially when compared to the cost of food, hotels and other tours in the area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank noahrosenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thumb's Up to Paulo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The receptionist at our Hotel recommended Paulo's Tours for a comprehensive overview of Helsinki and that it was. We found Paulo punctural, friendly and very well informed on the history of Helsinki and Finland-his adopted homeland. I have no hesitation in recommending him to other visitors to Helsinki.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulo's Tours also viewed

 

Been to Paulo's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing