We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite”
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Ranked #109 of 1,511 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to VAPIANO! At VAPIANO you enjoy fresh pasta, pizza, antipasti, salad, risotto or our dolci in mediterranean atmosphere. Our Vapiansiti prepare your favourite dish fresh in front of your eyes, especially for you. Extra meat, vegetarian, vegan or glutenfree, your personal preferences are respected during the preparation of the dish. Uncompromised freshness guarantees exceptional taste!
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,587 reviews
776 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,159 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I am very happy to find a Vapiano in any city that I visit in this part of the world. It is reliable, consistent and a rare instance of a chain restaurant that can serve excellent food. This is no exception! Go for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    257
    108
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good place to eat on a budget”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a pretty similar to Bravuria (Salomonkatu 1), a self-serice Italian restaurant. Vapiano is more enjoyd by youngsters but I can't see a great difference in these places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edelfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Yes, we came here and enjoyed an excellent pasta!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I came here on a Sunday afternoon and enjoyed a delicious prawn and spinach creamy pasta. We were hungry after going to the gym and decided that once during the weekend we could enjoy some carbohydrates. The meal was not the bland "MacDonalds of pizzaland", but an excellent combination of flavors with chilli and garlic spicing things up. Enjoy this place. It is good value with solid communal tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Night food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went there alone one Saturday night. No ravioli left but I chose to have spaghetti bolognese.
"Chef" was nice, talking to me all the time. In Finland that never happens.
Sauce was quite OK, but spaghetti was too "al dente" and tasted sour in a strange way.
But it is hard to find restaurant in Helsinki after ten o'clock. If you want to avoid McDonald's and Hesburger, this is maybe only possibility.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NellaFromHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All in all OK, but with a lot left to desire”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This restaurant is situated in the very center of Helsinki, and it is therefore a very attractive solution for those seeking something quick but tasty to eat while on a break from sightseeing the capital of Finland.

The restaurant uses a system where you are issued a card upon entering, then you visit a specific food station ("pasta", "pizza", and "salad" are different stations, each with its own queue). You order your meal, which is prepared in front of you. Then you give the card to the cook, who charges the amount. You go to the table, and after finishing your meal, you pass by the "reception" at the entrance/exit, return the card and pay. A rather pointless system, ostensibly to facilitate things, but actually rather making the whole endeavor more complicated.

The food itself was OK - although far from anything special. I ordered pasta and salad (it belonged to the lunch hours servings. Both pasta and salad were actually offered at the same station - yet another complicating factor). The price was reasonable to good. The staff were friendly, but there was an aura of boredom at the cooking station. The two cooks were constantly chatting and laughing with each other, and - again, although polite - seemed rather bored or even annoyed when they had to address the customers. I didn't feel exactly welcome there.

The table and chairs were very uncomfortable, with plenty of decoration pillows. Did it look pretty? Sure, but it definitely wasn't meant for sitting and eating.

Although not a bad solution for a quick and cheap meal, I wouldn't probably recommend it, nor visit it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MySweetShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing