We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype”
Review of Restaurant Muru

Restaurant Muru
Ranked #7 of 1,511 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $58
Cuisines: European, French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is one of the most mentioned restaurants in Helsinki for past years.

Tried it twice and even though food was good it was not spectacular. You can find similar food (and better) in many places around Helsinki. Didn't find service attentive.

Wine selection though was very good and to my liking anyway

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    92
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food, service, wine and ambience with capital F, S ,W and A!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

You just come, relax and let the exceptional staff to take care of you with the selection of food and wine. The oasis in Helsinki!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haukilahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice experience - I highly recommend it”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I often walked by Muru Ravintola (ravintola = restaurant in Finnish) and I could see from outside that it was always full. This is what caught my attention about it in the first place. I decided to make a reservation for a special occasion celebration of me and my spouse. Be aware that well in advance reservation is required. Two weeks prior to the occasion and I merely found a free table for a Tuesday evening at 8 o'clock.
We served the 4 course menu of the day (46 euros/person) which was absolutely delicious. Add a glass of (different type) of wine for each course plus a glass of champagne each of us and the bill got to 186 euros which I think is a normal price for such restaurant class in Helsinki. But it was worth it. If you are not a "connaisseur" in wines then trust the waiter's recommendations. We did and it was the right choice. The only thing that I was not very impressed about was the "cheese plateau" but only because it had 2 small pieces of cheese and since I love cheese I was disappointed about its size. Served with a perfect match of cherry jam and wine made it wonderful.
The atmosphere inside the restaurant can be considered romantic (candle lights, nice low volume music) but since the restaurant itself is not that big and being full of customers sitting at tables very close one to the other it is not exactly the perfect place to find a more private table. This was one of my request when I made the reservation and I admit we got the best one in this respect. I thank the restaurant person who took care of this.
The conclusion is that I recommend this restaurant for the atmosphere and the quality of food, drinks and overall services.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank das_gab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Muru is great”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Characterful restaurant at scene of Helsinki; highly recommended!

But take into account, very early reservations to be needed, and two settings for a dinner. First one is over at 19.30, thats a bit disappointing - while you would like to stay a bit longer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A top Helsinki restaurant”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is one of my favourite placed in Helsinki. Great food, the best service in town, and a very hip ambience at a central location. One of the few top of mind options when thinking about eating out. You need to book well in advance.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Muru also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Restaurant Muru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing