We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room and staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed I a superior queen room for 2 nights. Great room with excellent amenities. FACE soaps and conditioners, robes with well decorated rooms. Very up to date and modern. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. There are some excellent smaller restaurants in the area. It is an easy 30 minute walk to the main harbor and less to the city center. A great spot in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    451
    79
    11
    8
See reviews for
182
458
94
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wych, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Scandi Paasi hotel is situated in a pleasant square approx 15 minutes walk from the centre of Helsinki. The hotel itself is just this side of quirky with features like different illustrations outside each room, for example mine was a silhoutte of a juggler.
The staff are very friendly, their English is excellent, certainly better than my Finnish. The room itself had everything needed including adjustable beds, as well as the usual TV, mini bar, shower and bathroom.

My room didn't have any clothes hangers but did have an iron & ironing board (saying the usual hunt for one). The lifts come complete with piped rock music. Breakfast was of good quality with plenty of choice and their is a restaurant onsite (although I didn't try it) it was highly recommended to me.

Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This was the first leg of our honeymoon and they instantly upgraded us - a great start. The room was huge, comfortable and exceptionally clean each day. The breakfast was exceptional too. The highlight of our stay was the staff - in particular the lovely Erica. They made you feel really welcome and we're wry helpful. We look forward to visiting again one day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loupac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room we were given was huge and in a restored part of the hotel do it was very quaint also.
Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly with nothing being too much trouble.
Breakfast was great with lots of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

While on our 1st trip to Finland we stayed at the Scandic Paasi 3 times. Each time we left to check out other parts of Finland the held our bags in a safe location. The staff here are extremely friendly and always willing to share their knowledge. The rooms are clean and big enough to spread out your junk. Breakfast was extensive and a great way to start your day. The best part for us was the location. Just a short walk to tram, bus or train and across the road to the local markets. You can quickly immerse yourself in local life or get out to the major attractions with ease. The Scandic made our the accommodation on our holiday a pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building are cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We loved this hotel for our one night stay in Helsinki. My flight arrived very early and I was feeling exhausted and gross and was therefore so glad the hotel let me check in very early and therefore I was able to take a nice shower in the very clean and modern bathroom and then a much needed nap on the comfy bed!

I did get a little lost finding the place, but felt a bit stupid when I did find it. I took the metro from the Main train station and it was only 2 stops but with the suitcase, the streets can be a little tricky. The station is very close to the hotel so I would recommend this if you don't want to walk or have lots of baggage.

Breakfast was really good and extensive, loved the juice thing! All the staff were very nice and helpful. We borrowed the bikes they lend for free one evening and that was a great extra service. There is a S Market just down stairs too if you need any supplies. There are some clothing shops there too, and a McDonalds. Heaps of pubs and restaurants (and a bigger S Market with an alko) in a 5 min walk radius.

One other great thing is that the curtains over the window cover the whole window and actually block out the summer light, unlike actual Finnish houses. This was great as I really needed the sleep! And the wifi was consistent and a good speed.

The only thing I would mention is that there is no bar fridge, but this is hardly a detriment. Overall we really loved this place and will return if we ever need accommodation in Helsinki again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesInFinland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I travelled to Helsinki for the first time last week. The hotel staff is extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The included breakfast buffet is plentiful, scrumptious, and varied for many different taste buds. The staff at breakfast is also extremely accommodating. The location for us Is ideal as we prefer to be close but not in the middle of the crowded city center. The bus and tram stops outside the hotel can take you anywhere for 3 euro. (Local bus 615 to and from airport 5euro). But the best part for us are the free bike rentals. We were able to secure them (first come first serve) each day we desired. The city is designed for bike travel with thousands of km of bike paths and bike accommodations on sidewalks even in busy pedestrian areas. Finally, I recommend signing up for the Scandic card to receive discounts and vouchers.

Room Tip: You can open your window on the (higher) 6th level and not have cigarette smoke from the street draf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Property: Scandic Paasi
Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing