We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upper-class Scandic property with hip design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An upper-class Scandic property with hip design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Amenities-wise pretty much your standard scandic, for this one they have put quite a bit more eye and dime on design. The hotel looks modern, even hip. The service staff on our stay was also extra-friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear panze,
We thank you so much for your kind and positive review of Paasi. We are glad you noticed our special interior design. You are right; Paasi is a “story-hotel” in a family of Scandic hotels in Finland. Our design is inspired by the colorful personalities and happenings of the 150 years history of Siltasaari area, where we are located.
It is wonderful to hear that you felt our service extra-friendly. We are looking forward your next visit; hope to meet you soon again. Our best regards to you to Oulu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    400
    74
    11
    4
See reviews for
160
409
86
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is a little bit offside, but after 15 minutes walk you are in the very centre of the city. Otherwise a peaceful location with a beautiful park and water next to the hotel. There are restaurants in the neighbourhood, but if you want some of the higher standard ones, you need to move closer to the downtown, 10-15 min walk or 5 min by taxi.
Nice breakfast standard. Efficient and friendly staff in the reception and the bar.
The cleanliness of the toilet next to the reception did not keep acceptable standard though.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have sauna! The rooms in the part of the hotel that have been old offices, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Max S,
Thank you so much for sharing your impression of Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you got to experience also the water and Bay next to hotel, and found it peaceful. Our new restaurant “Meripaviljonki” is under construction right over there, on the water, and will open on 8th April 2015. Hope to have you as our guest then, and be able to introduce you to Meripaviljonki, because it will represent and join to the group of little higher standard restaurants in our own neighborhood. We appreciate your feedback of cleanliness, and improvement steps were taken right away by our team. Thank you so much and hope to see you soon again at Paasi, for both business and pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed in Scandic Paasi twice in the past 3 months and both experiences were great! Location is very good, few minutes by tram, bus or metro to central, rooms are very nice and comfy. You'll definitely find something nice to eat at breakfast and if you wish to have dinner, there's a good restaurant in the complex. Above all of those good qualities I appreciate the good customer service at the reception. The staff was friendly and they seemed to enjoy their job, making jokes with the customer and being very helpful. Having worked in customer service several years I appreciate to receive quality service and wish to tell it to others too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMTP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear KMPT2014,
Your review makes us extremely happy. Guests returning to Scandic Paasi, and choosing us as a hotel in Helsinki more like ones, is like our dream come true. Our wish is to give people away from home a feeling of being among friends at Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you noticed our joy. Yes – you are right; we do enjoy so much our job. And especially because of wonderful guests like you are. Thank you KMPT2014. Hope to see you soon again! Very best regards to you from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

It is side by side to the Congress Center. And just a 15 minutes walk to the City Center.
It is tidy and modern, with a good standard. Surprisingly there is no Sauna.
The staff is very friendly and helping.
I got a room 1st foor. And there are light bulbs just outside, shining sll night long. So make sure to get a room on the back side or on another floor.
The breakfast has a wide range and you will definitely find something good. To escape the bad finnish coffee, you can get a decent one at the Reception.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Jo G,
So kind of you to share a friendly review of Scandic Paasi. Thank you a lot! We are so sorry about the light outside disturbing you stay. For your next visit, we will help you to get a room from other sides of Paasi, and that time a room with a private sauna. We have altogether 11 saunas in two different room categories, and they are pretty cute for friends of Finnish sauna culture, really worth to experience. Hope to see you soon again as our guest. So warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great location (10 - 15 minute walk to city centre). New, very well kept, modern property with amazingly comfortable beds. (The beds are the most comfortable hotel beds that I've ever slept in.) Very friendly, helpful staff. Good, wide variety, breakfast included in room rate.

Only downside (for my wife who is Finnish) -- the hotel does not have a sauna.

Room Tip: Upper floor, balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Charles B,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi for your visit in Helsinki, and sharing so kind comments on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you especially valued our beds. Our beds are manufactured in Finland and by company called Finlayson.

How unfortunate that we could not offer you sauna experience, while we don’t have a common sauna at the hotel. Instead, for your next visit we would really like to help you to book a room with private sauna in your own hotel room. We have altogether 11 saunas in two different room categories. Please don’t hesitate to send us an e-mail before your visit (paasi@scandichotels.com), and we will guide you how to do it.

Hope to see you soon again in Finland and at Scandic Paasi. Our best regards to you and to your wife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in room #530 (superior plus, breakfast included).

The room was more like a studio apartment, with a separate toilet and basin, bathroom with shower, basin and sauna, basic kitchenette (in large cupboard opposite the bathroom), storage, small dining table, lounge, desk and bed.

The shower was roomy (marimekko shower curtain) with ample hot water and lots of fluffy towels and robes provided. Face Stockholm products were a very nice touch.

The room was very quiet and looked out on to the square in front of the hotel and across the river on to the tower of the main rail station.

Service was really friendly in the hotel. We enjoyed drinks in the bar on a couple of occasions as well as dinner in both of the restaurants in the hotel complex. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice including a lot of healthy options.

We enjoyed the chance to try to in room sauna on a couple of occasions too.

Wi-fi was free and a strong signal in room.

On check in we received a few food / beverage vouchers which we used for drinks in the bar and towards one of our dinners.

The location of the hotel is pretty close to the city centre. The walk to the central railway station across long bridge is about 25 minutes (a nice variation on this walk is to go through the botanic gardens). The walk to the metro and tram stops (multiple tram lines) is less than 5 minutes (there is also a fresh food market there). We also caught a taxi from the city centre to the hotel on a couple of evenings and the fare was about EUR10.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior plus so that you can experiene the sauna (request sauna rather than bath tub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Jon Potter,
We enjoyed so much reading your excellent and comprehensive story here in Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving so good tips & hints for other travelers. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and would visit us again, wonderful.

We liked a lot how you described our superior plus room, more like a studio apartment. Very well said, thank you – we learned from you, and will definitely use same expression when telling about superior plus rooms.

Our very best regards to you to Australia. Warmly welcome to Finland, Helsinki and Scandic Paasi again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Superb location for the conference centre, which is why this hotel was booked. Friendly and helpful staff at reception; requested a quiet room and it was indeed a quiet room. Breakfast plentiful, varied and fresh with enough authentic Finnish items to distinguish it from every other continental breakfast. Everything was very clean and the rooms looked newly refurbished. But the layout of my room seemed not to have taken any account of functionality. I was staying just one night but there wasn't enough hanging space. Nor was there anywhere (other than the bed) to put a case. Nor anywhere to work - not even on an iPad, never mind a laptop. Maddening. Especially because there is a white run of wall which could accommodate a suitcase shelf or a computer desk. Baffling. No matter how great their service, the designers have spiked the guest experience. Sad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear AlbertHerring,
Thank you for your kind review of Scandic Paasi. How sad we are to hear that the layout of your room gave you maddening feelings. We are so very sorry about it. For you next visit please let us help you. We would like to assist you to choose and book a different kind of room. We have six alternative room categories and three different room interior designs to choose from. We are sure we can find a better room type to fulfill your needs, and to make your stay pleasant and welcome. Our deepest apologies and best regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Property: Scandic Paasi
Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing